Skip to content
AIupick

ClaudevsGrok

Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Claude

by Anthropic

Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Claude facts

Grok

by SpaceXAI

Grok is an AI chat assistant from SpaceXAI on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions that need current web and X information or for summarizing an uploaded file.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Grok facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsClaude: Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5Grok: Grok 4.6, Grok 4.7, Grok 4.5
  • Web searchClaude: SupportedGrok: Limited, Supported
  • PlatformsClaude: Web, Desktop app, Mobile appGrok: Web, Mobile app
  • AccountClaude: Account required (log in with Google or with an email link)Grok: Use without logging in is offered where available; otherwise an account is required
  • Usage limitsClaude: Session-based usage limit that resets every five hours, Session-based usage limit that resets every five hours. Weekly usage limit across all models, 5x the Pro plan's per-session usage. 20x the Pro plan's per-session usage. Weekly usage limit across all models. Larger per-session allowance than Pro. Significantly more usage than Standard seats. No per-seat usage limits; all usage billed at API ratesGrok: Free use within limits (amount not stated), One shared weekly usage pool across Chat, Imagine, Voice and Build, Increased limits at regular speed, Significantly higher usage than SuperGrok, Highest usage
  • Context windowClaude: Up to 1M tokens on the newest models; 500K or 200K tokens on othersGrok: 2x longer conversations than Free, 5x longer conversations than Free
  • Used to train AIClaude: Your choice: new users pick the model-training setting at sign-up, Not used to train models by defaultGrok: Used to improve models unless you turn it off, Not used to train models by default
  • How long data is keptClaude: Deleted chats are removed from back-end storage within 30 days. Up to 5 years (de-identified) if you allow model training. 30 days if you do not allow model trainingGrok: Kept until you delete it; deleted chats removed within 30 days. Deletion takes up to 30 days
  • Connects toClaude: Linear, Slack, Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Canva, Microsoft 365, Notion, Figma, HubSpot, Asana, monday.comGrok: Gmail & Google Calendar, Google Drive, OneDrive, Outlook Mail & Calendar, Microsoft Teams, SharePoint, Salesforce, Box, Canva, Gamma, GitHub, Linear, Meltwater, Notion, S&P Global, Vercel

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: file upload, image input, can switch off training, agent mode. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: where it is available, custom assistants, deep research. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, memory, projects, voice conversation, runs code and analyses data.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Claude

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month, plus tax
  • Team Team$20.00 / month, billed annually, plus tax

Through the API: about $0.16 – $16 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 4 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for Claude

Grok

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Lite Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • SuperGrok Paid, individual$30.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Plus Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Heavy Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • Business TeamPrice not confirmed

Through the API: about $1.02 – $2.40 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 6 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for Grok

Full comparison with sources

ClaudeGrok

What it is for

What it is for

Claude:

Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search.

Grok:

Grok is an AI chat assistant from SpaceXAI on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions that need current web and X information or for summarizing an uploaded file.

Editor's suggestion

Claude:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Grok:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Claude:

  • Supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Grok:

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Plans and prices

Claude:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month, plus tax
  • Team (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually, plus tax
  • All plan details and sources

Grok:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Lite (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • SuperGrok (Paid, individual)$30.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Plus (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Heavy (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • Business (Team)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Through the API

Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.

Claude:

  • Claude Haiku 5.5$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
  • Claude Sonnet 5.5$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • Claude Opus 5.5$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
  • Claude Fable 5.1$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

Grok:

  • Grok Build 0.1$1.00 in · $2.00 out · about $1.02 a month
  • Grok 4.3$1.25 in · $2.50 out · about $1.28 a month
  • Grok 4.20$1.25 in · $2.50 out · about $1.28 a month
  • Grok 4.7$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
  • Grok 4.6$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
  • Grok 4.5$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Claude:

  • Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5support.claude.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Grok:

  • Grok 4.6, Grok 4.7, Grok 4.5x.ai +2checked 2026-10-10

Input and output

File upload

You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Grok:

  • Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Web, Mobile app

Image input

You can give it an image to describe or analyse.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Grok:

  • Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Web, Mobile app

Voice conversation

Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Grok:

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Runs code and analyses data

Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Grok:

  • Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Checking facts

Web search

It can search the web while answering.

Claude:

  • Supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Pro, Max

Grok:

  • Limitedx.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

    Free plan: real-time web and X search is limited.

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Deep research

A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Max, Team

Grok:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Claude:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile appclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10

Grok:

  • Web, Mobile appdocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10

Memory

Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Grok:

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Projects

Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Grok:

  • Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Custom assistants

Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.

Claude:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Grok:

  • Limitedx.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Custom Skills (reusable instructions), not standalone assistants.

Agent mode

Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Max, Team

Grok:

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus, SuperGrok Heavy

Connects to

Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.

Claude:

  • Linear, Slack, Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Canva, Microsoft 365, Notion, Figma, HubSpot, Asana, monday.comsupport.claude.com +2checked 2026-10-11

Grok:

  • Gmail & Google Calendar, Google Drive, OneDrive, Outlook Mail & Calendar, Microsoft Teams, SharePoint, Salesforce, Box, Canva, Gamma, GitHub, Linear, Meltwater, Notion, S&P Global, Verceldocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

Claude:

  • Account required (log in with Google or with an email link)support.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10

Grok:

  • Use without logging in is offered where available; otherwise an account is requiredx.aichecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

Claude:

  • Available in the countries listed on the official 'Where can I access Claude?' pagesupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10

Grok:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Claude:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Custom assistants

Grok:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Where it is available, Deep research

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open