Skip to content
AIupick

ChatGPTvsMeta AI

Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

ChatGPT

by OpenAI

ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All ChatGPT facts

Meta AI

by Meta

Meta AI is Meta's AI assistant at meta.ai, in the Meta AI app and inside WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger and Facebook; a beginner might try it for everyday questions or for asking about a photo.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Meta AI facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsChatGPT: GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 LunaMeta AI: Muse Spark 1.1, Muse Image
  • File uploadChatGPT: Supported, LimitedMeta AI: Supported
  • AccountChatGPT: Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settingMeta AI: Account required (an existing Meta account)
  • Where it is availableChatGPT: Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pageMeta AI: Not available in all regions; some features may not be available in every area; no official country list found
  • Usage limitsChatGPT: Unlimited everyday text chats (abuse safeguards apply); separate limits on file uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis and other tools, May include message caps, especially during high demand, Included usage rises by tier: Pro 200 more than Pro 100, Pro 500 the most. Per-model allowances; a model can be unavailable until its allowance resets. Both Pro models draw from one weekly allowance. 15 Pro-model messages per month, shared across GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro. 50 Pro-model messages per week, shared across the two Pro models. 5x the usage of Standard seats and no 5-hour usage limitMeta AI: More usage of the most compute-intensive AI capabilities
  • Agent modeChatGPT: SupportedMeta AI: Limited
  • Deep researchChatGPT: SupportedMeta AI: Limited

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: image input, web search. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: used to train AI, can switch off training, how long data is kept, projects, custom assistants, runs code and analyses data, connects to. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, platforms, memory, voice conversation.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

ChatGPT

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Go Paid, individual$8.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Pro Paid, individual$100.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Business TeamPrice not confirmed

Through the API: about $0.16 – $52 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 8 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for ChatGPT

Meta AI

  • Free Free planPrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Meta AI

Full comparison with sources

ChatGPTMeta AI

What it is for

What it is for

ChatGPT:

ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.

Meta AI:

Meta AI is Meta's AI assistant at meta.ai, in the Meta AI app and inside WhatsApp, Instagram, Messenger and Facebook; a beginner might try it for everyday questions or for asking about a photo.

Editor's suggestion

ChatGPT:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Meta AI:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedchatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Meta AI:

  • Supportedai.meta.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Plans and prices

ChatGPT:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Business (Team)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Meta AI:

Through the API

Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.

ChatGPT:

  • GPT-6 Luna$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Luna$0.20 in · $1.20 out · about $0.35 a month
  • GPT-6.1 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • GPT-6 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Terra$2.00 in · $12.00 out · about $3.48 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Sol$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
  • GPT-6 Astra$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
  • GPT-5.5 Pro$30.00 in · $180.00 out · about $52 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

Meta AI:

Not in our API price list

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

ChatGPT:

  • GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 Lunahelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Meta AI:

  • Muse Spark 1.1, Muse Imageabout.fb.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Input and output

File upload

You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Go, Plus, Pro, Business · On: Web, Mobile app

  • Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

    Free plan: 3 file uploads per day. Audio uploads are not available on Free.

Meta AI:

  • Supportedai.meta.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Image input

You can give it an image to describe or analyse.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business

Meta AI:

  • Supportedmeta.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Voice conversation

Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Meta AI:

  • Supportedabout.fb.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Runs code and analyses data

Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Meta AI:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Checking facts

Web search

It can search the web while answering.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business

Meta AI:

  • Supportedai.meta.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Deep research

A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Meta AI:

  • Limitedabout.fb.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Rolling out in select markets in the Meta AI app and meta.ai; the post does not mention citations.

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

ChatGPT:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile apphelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Meta AI:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile appai.meta.comchecked 2026-10-10

Memory

Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Meta AI:

  • Supportedabout.fb.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Projects

Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Meta AI:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Custom assistants

Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.

ChatGPT:

  • Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro

    Existing GPTs can still be used; the same page says OpenAI plans to retire custom GPTs and recommends Plugins instead.

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Business plan

Meta AI:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Agent mode

Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Plus, Pro, Business

Meta AI:

  • Limitedabout.fb.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Acts through connected email and calendar apps; the post does not describe browser or computer control. Rolling out in select markets in the Meta AI app and meta.ai.

Connects to

Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.

ChatGPT:

  • Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointhelp.openai.com +1checked 2026-10-11

Meta AI:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

ChatGPT:

  • Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settinghelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Meta AI:

  • Account required (an existing Meta account)ai.meta.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

ChatGPT:

  • Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pagehelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Meta AI:

  • Not available in all regions; some features may not be available in every area; no official country list foundmeta.comchecked 2026-10-10

Not yet confirmed

Context window

How much text it can take in at once (a long document, a long chat).

ChatGPT:

  • Not yet confirmed

Meta AI:

  • Not yet confirmed

Sources and confidence

Confidence

ChatGPT:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Context window

Meta AI:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Context window, Used to train AI, Can switch off training, How long data is kept, Projects, Custom assistants, Runs code and analyses data, Connects to

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open