LM StudiovsOllama
Two run ai locally tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
LM Studio
by Element Labs, Inc.
Desktop app for finding, downloading and chatting with open models on your computer, which can also serve them through an OpenAI-compatible local API.
All LM Studio factsOllama
by Ollama Inc.
Downloads and runs open models such as Gemma, Llama and Qwen on your computer, with a local API and optional cloud models.
All Ollama factsWhere they differ
- Open sourceLM Studio: Not supportedOllama: Supported
- HardwareLM Studio: Macs need an Apple silicon chip (M1 to M4) and macOS 14 or newer; 16 GB of memory or more is recommended. Windows on x64 (with AVX2) or ARM; 16 GB of memory and 4 GB of dedicated graphics memory recommended.Ollama: Macs need macOS 14 Sonoma or newer; Apple M-series chips use CPU and GPU, Intel Macs run on the CPU only. On Windows it uses NVIDIA and AMD Radeon graphics cards. NVIDIA graphics cards need compute capability 5.0 or higher and driver 550 or newer.
- Use at workLM Studio: Allowed: the licence covers personal and internal business use, and no separate commercial licence is needed since July 2025.Ollama: The MIT licence allows anyone to use, copy, modify and sell the software without restriction, which covers use at work.
Confirmed for only one of the two so far: works offline. The table below shows which.
Same answer for both: free plan, AI models, operating systems, chat window, local API.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
Ollama
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month
- Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month
- Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month
- Team Team$500.00 / month
- Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Full comparison with sources
| Run AI locally | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | Desktop app for finding, downloading and chatting with open models on your computer, which can also serve them through an OpenAI-compatible local API. | Downloads and runs open models such as Gemma, Llama and Qwen on your computer, with a local API and optional cloud models. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion | No editor suggestion yet | No editor suggestion yet |
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| AI models | ||
| AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date. |
|
|
| Input and output | ||
| Chat windowComes with a desktop chat window, not only a command line. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| Local APIServes models through an API on your computer that other apps can use. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| Operating systemsmacOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported. |
|
|
| Open sourceThe tool's own code is published under an open-source licence. |
|
|
| Works offlineRuns without an internet connection once a model is downloaded. |
|
|
| HardwareWhat computer it needs or supports, such as memory or graphics cards, as officially stated. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 All compared fields have a confirmed value. | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Works offline |
What it is for
What it is for
LM Studio:
Desktop app for finding, downloading and chatting with open models on your computer, which can also serve them through an OpenAI-compatible local API.
Ollama:
Downloads and runs open models such as Gemma, Llama and Qwen on your computer, with a local API and optional cloud models.
Editor's suggestion
LM Studio:
No editor suggestion yetOllama:
No editor suggestion yetCost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
LM Studio:
- Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Free plan
Ollama:
- Supportedollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
Free plan
Plans and prices
LM Studio:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- All plan details and sources
Ollama:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
- Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
- Team (Team)$500.00 / month
- Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
AI models
AI models
The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
LM Studio:
- Qwen, Mistral, Gemma, gpt-oss, Llama, DeepSeeklmstudio.ai +1checked 2026-10-11
Ollama:
- Gemma, Llama, Qwen, DeepSeek, gpt-oss, Mistralgithub.com +5checked 2026-10-11
Input and output
Chat window
Comes with a desktop chat window, not only a command line.
LM Studio:
- Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Ollama:
- Supportedollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Workflow
Local API
Serves models through an API on your computer that other apps can use.
LM Studio:
- Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Ollama:
- Supporteddocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Requirements
Operating systems
macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.
LM Studio:
- macOS, Windows, Linuxlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Ollama:
- macOS, Windows, Linuxdocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
Open source
The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.
LM Studio:
- Not supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Ollama:
- Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Works offline
Runs without an internet connection once a model is downloaded.
LM Studio:
- Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Ollama:
- Not yet confirmed
Hardware
What computer it needs or supports, such as memory or graphics cards, as officially stated.
LM Studio:
- Macs need an Apple silicon chip (M1 to M4) and macOS 14 or newer; 16 GB of memory or more is recommended. Windows on x64 (with AVX2) or ARM; 16 GB of memory and 4 GB of dedicated graphics memory recommended.lmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Ollama:
- Macs need macOS 14 Sonoma or newer; Apple M-series chips use CPU and GPU, Intel Macs run on the CPU only. On Windows it uses NVIDIA and AMD Radeon graphics cards. NVIDIA graphics cards need compute capability 5.0 or higher and driver 550 or newer.docs.ollama.com +2checked 2026-10-11
Sources and confidence
Confidence
LM Studio:
Last checked 2026-10-11
All compared fields have a confirmed value.
Ollama:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Works offline
