Ollama
Downloads and runs open models such as Gemma, Llama and Qwen on your computer, with a local API and optional cloud models.
- Free plan
- Verified free plan
- Paid from
- Pro $20.00 / month
- Known for
- Cloud models, ollama launch, Apps
- Facts last checked
- 2026-10-11
What makes Ollama different
Command line, app and local API for running open models
01
Cloud models
Runs open models on Ollama's servers instead of your computer, through the same app, CLI or API.
Use it for: Using big models on a computer without a strong graphics card.
How to start
- Download Ollama and open the app, or run ollama in a terminal
- Follow the setup prompts and sign in
- Pick a cloud model, for example gemma4:cloud
No plan limit stateddocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-1102
ollama launch
Starts a coding agent such as Claude Code, Codex or OpenCode set up to use an Ollama model.
Use it for: Coding with an agent on open models from your project folder.
How to start
- Open a terminal in your project directory
- Run ollama launch claude (or codex, opencode)
- Choose a model when prompted
No plan limit statedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-1103
Apps
On macOS, connects Claude Desktop or ChatGPT Desktop so they can use Ollama models.
Use it for: Using open models inside the Claude or ChatGPT desktop apps.
How to start
- On macOS, open Ollama and select Apps
- Connect Claude or ChatGPT (Desktop) and follow the prompts
- Choose your Ollama models in Settings → Apps
No plan limit stateddocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-1104
Ollama app
Desktop chat window for macOS and Windows; you can drag in text files or PDFs to ask about them.
Use it for: Chatting with a local model about a document without the terminal.
How to start
- Download Ollama for macOS or Windows
- Open the app and follow the setup prompts
- Choose a local model and drag a file into the chat
No plan limit statedollama.comchecked 2026-10-1105
Modelfile
A text file naming a base model, parameters and system message, used to create your own model variant.
Use it for: Saving a model with your own instructions and settings.
How to start
- Save the instructions as a file (e.g. Modelfile)
- Run ollama create choose-a-model-name -f ./Modelfile
- Run ollama run choose-a-model-name
No plan limit stateddocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
Privacy and your data
What happens to what you type, upload or make, from the provider's privacy and terms pages. Business plans often differ; the plan is named under each answer.
- Use at workWhether the app may be used at work or in a company, as its licence or terms state.
- The MIT licence allows anyone to use, copy, modify and sell the software without restriction, which covers use at work.github.comchecked 2026-10-11
Cost
- Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
- Supportedollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
Free plan
Plans
Free
Free plan
- $0.00 / month
Pro
Paid, individual
- $20.00 / month
- $200.00 / year, annual commitment
Max
Paid, individual
- $100.00 / month
Team
Team
- $500.00 / monthEarly access.
Minimum seats: not confirmed, so no total price is calculated.
Enterprise
Enterprise
Amount not confirmed. See official pricing
All features7 questions, each with its source and the date we checked it
AI models
- AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
- Gemma, Llama, Qwen, DeepSeek, gpt-oss, Mistralgithub.com +5checked 2026-10-11
Input and output
- Chat windowComes with a desktop chat window, not only a command line.
- Supportedollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Workflow
- Local APIServes models through an API on your computer that other apps can use.
- Supporteddocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Requirements
- Operating systemsmacOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.
- macOS, Windows, Linuxdocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-11
- Open sourceThe tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.
- Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
- Works offlineRuns without an internet connection once a model is downloaded.
- Not yet confirmed
- HardwareWhat computer it needs or supports, such as memory or graphics cards, as officially stated.
- Macs need macOS 14 Sonoma or newer; Apple M-series chips use CPU and GPU, Intel Macs run on the CPU only. On Windows it uses NVIDIA and AMD Radeon graphics cards. NVIDIA graphics cards need compute capability 5.0 or higher and driver 550 or newer.docs.ollama.com +2checked 2026-10-11