Skip to content
AIupick

JanvsOllama

Two run ai locally tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Jan

by Menlo Research

Open-source desktop chat app that runs local models, including Jan's own, and can also connect to cloud providers with your API key.

All Jan facts

Ollama

by Ollama Inc.

Downloads and runs open models such as Gemma, Llama and Qwen on your computer, with a local API and optional cloud models.

All Ollama facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsJan: Jan-v1, Llama, Gemma, Qwen, GPT-ossOllama: Gemma, Llama, Qwen, DeepSeek, gpt-oss, Mistral
  • HardwareJan: Macs need Apple silicon; Intel-based Macs are not supported. Windows: 8 GB memory minimum (16 GB recommended); NVIDIA, AMD or Intel Arc graphics need at least 6 GB of video memory.Ollama: Macs need macOS 14 Sonoma or newer; Apple M-series chips use CPU and GPU, Intel Macs run on the CPU only. On Windows it uses NVIDIA and AMD Radeon graphics cards. NVIDIA graphics cards need compute capability 5.0 or higher and driver 550 or newer.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: works offline, use at work. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, operating systems, open source, chat window, local API.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Jan

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
Plan details and sources for Jan

Ollama

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month
  • Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • Team Team$500.00 / month
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Ollama

Full comparison with sources

JanOllama

What it is for

What it is for

Jan:

Open-source desktop chat app that runs local models, including Jan's own, and can also connect to cloud providers with your API key.

Ollama:

Downloads and runs open models such as Gemma, Llama and Qwen on your computer, with a local API and optional cloud models.

Editor's suggestion

Jan:

No editor suggestion yet

Ollama:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Jan:

  • Supportedjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Ollama:

  • Supportedollama.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Plans and prices

Jan:

Ollama:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
  • Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • Team (Team)$500.00 / month
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Jan:

  • Jan-v1, Llama, Gemma, Qwen, GPT-ossjan.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

Ollama:

  • Gemma, Llama, Qwen, DeepSeek, gpt-oss, Mistralgithub.com +5checked 2026-10-11

Input and output

Chat window

Comes with a desktop chat window, not only a command line.

Jan:

  • Supportedjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Ollama:

  • Supportedollama.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Workflow

Local API

Serves models through an API on your computer that other apps can use.

Jan:

  • Supportedjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Ollama:

  • Supporteddocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Requirements

Operating systems

macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.

Jan:

  • macOS, Windows, Linuxjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

Ollama:

  • macOS, Windows, Linuxdocs.ollama.comchecked 2026-10-11

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

Jan:

  • Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Ollama:

  • Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Works offline

Runs without an internet connection once a model is downloaded.

Jan:

  • Supportedjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Ollama:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Hardware

What computer it needs or supports, such as memory or graphics cards, as officially stated.

Jan:

  • Macs need Apple silicon; Intel-based Macs are not supported. Windows: 8 GB memory minimum (16 GB recommended); NVIDIA, AMD or Intel Arc graphics need at least 6 GB of video memory.jan.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

Ollama:

  • Macs need macOS 14 Sonoma or newer; Apple M-series chips use CPU and GPU, Intel Macs run on the CPU only. On Windows it uses NVIDIA and AMD Radeon graphics cards. NVIDIA graphics cards need compute capability 5.0 or higher and driver 550 or newer.docs.ollama.com +2checked 2026-10-11

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Jan:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Use at work

Ollama:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Works offline

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open