Skip to content
AIupick
Run AI locallyby Element Labs, Inc.

LM Studio

Desktop app for finding, downloading and chatting with open models on your computer, which can also serve them through an OpenAI-compatible local API.

Free plan
Verified free plan
Paid from
Not yet confirmed
Known for
LM Link, LM Studio Bionic, llmster
Facts last checked
2026-10-11

What makes LM Studio different

Desktop app for running and serving local language models

  1. 02

    LM Studio Bionic

    Separate agent app for coding, research and document work with local, linked or cloud open models.

    Use it for: Handing multi-step coding or document tasks to an agent.

    How to start

    1. Download LM Studio Bionic
    2. Create a new Project, give it a name and click Create
    3. Select a model in the new session
    4. Tell the agent what you'd like to do
    No plan limit statedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
  2. 03

    llmster

    The core of LM Studio packaged as a background service without the desktop window.

    Use it for: Serving local models from a server, cloud machine or CI.

    How to start

    1. On Mac or Linux run curl -fsSL https://lmstudio.ai/install.sh | bash; on Windows run irm https://lmstudio.ai/install.ps1 | iex
    2. Start it with lms daemon up
    No plan limit statedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
  3. 04

    MCP servers

    Connects local or remote MCP servers so your local models can call their tools.

    Use it for: Giving a local model tools such as search or file access.

    How to start

    1. Switch to the Program tab in the right hand sidebar
    2. Click Install > Edit mcp.json
    3. Add MCP servers by editing the mcp.json file
    No plan limit statedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

Privacy and your data

What happens to what you type, upload or make, from the provider's privacy and terms pages. Business plans often differ; the plan is named under each answer.

Use at workWhether the app may be used at work or in a company, as its licence or terms state.
  • Allowed: the licence covers personal and internal business use, and no separate commercial licence is needed since July 2025.lmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

Cost

Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
  • Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Plans

  • Free

    Free plan

    • $0.00 / month
All features7 questions, each with its source and the date we checked it

AI models

AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
  • Qwen, Mistral, Gemma, gpt-oss, Llama, DeepSeeklmstudio.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

Input and output

Chat windowComes with a desktop chat window, not only a command line.
  • Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Workflow

Local APIServes models through an API on your computer that other apps can use.
  • Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Requirements

Operating systemsmacOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.
  • macOS, Windows, Linuxlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Open sourceThe tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.
  • Not supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Works offlineRuns without an internet connection once a model is downloaded.
  • Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

HardwareWhat computer it needs or supports, such as memory or graphics cards, as officially stated.
  • Macs need an Apple silicon chip (M1 to M4) and macOS 14 or newer; 16 GB of memory or more is recommended. Windows on x64 (with AVX2) or ARM; 16 GB of memory and 4 GB of dedicated graphics memory recommended.lmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11
Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open