Skip to content
AIupick

JanvsLM Studio

Two run ai locally tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Jan

by Menlo Research

Open-source desktop chat app that runs local models, including Jan's own, and can also connect to cloud providers with your API key.

All Jan facts

LM Studio

by Element Labs, Inc.

Desktop app for finding, downloading and chatting with open models on your computer, which can also serve them through an OpenAI-compatible local API.

All LM Studio facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsJan: Jan-v1, Llama, Gemma, Qwen, GPT-ossLM Studio: Qwen, Mistral, Gemma, gpt-oss, Llama, DeepSeek
  • Open sourceJan: SupportedLM Studio: Not supported
  • HardwareJan: Macs need Apple silicon; Intel-based Macs are not supported. Windows: 8 GB memory minimum (16 GB recommended); NVIDIA, AMD or Intel Arc graphics need at least 6 GB of video memory.LM Studio: Macs need an Apple silicon chip (M1 to M4) and macOS 14 or newer; 16 GB of memory or more is recommended. Windows on x64 (with AVX2) or ARM; 16 GB of memory and 4 GB of dedicated graphics memory recommended.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: use at work. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, operating systems, chat window, local API, works offline.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Jan

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
Plan details and sources for Jan

LM Studio

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
Plan details and sources for LM Studio

Full comparison with sources

JanLM Studio

What it is for

What it is for

Jan:

Open-source desktop chat app that runs local models, including Jan's own, and can also connect to cloud providers with your API key.

LM Studio:

Desktop app for finding, downloading and chatting with open models on your computer, which can also serve them through an OpenAI-compatible local API.

Editor's suggestion

Jan:

No editor suggestion yet

LM Studio:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Jan:

  • Supportedjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

LM Studio:

  • Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Plans and prices

Jan:

LM Studio:

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Jan:

  • Jan-v1, Llama, Gemma, Qwen, GPT-ossjan.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

LM Studio:

  • Qwen, Mistral, Gemma, gpt-oss, Llama, DeepSeeklmstudio.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

Input and output

Chat window

Comes with a desktop chat window, not only a command line.

Jan:

  • Supportedjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

LM Studio:

  • Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Workflow

Local API

Serves models through an API on your computer that other apps can use.

Jan:

  • Supportedjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

LM Studio:

  • Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Requirements

Operating systems

macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.

Jan:

  • macOS, Windows, Linuxjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

LM Studio:

  • macOS, Windows, Linuxlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

Jan:

  • Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

LM Studio:

  • Not supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Works offline

Runs without an internet connection once a model is downloaded.

Jan:

  • Supportedjan.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

LM Studio:

  • Supportedlmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Hardware

What computer it needs or supports, such as memory or graphics cards, as officially stated.

Jan:

  • Macs need Apple silicon; Intel-based Macs are not supported. Windows: 8 GB memory minimum (16 GB recommended); NVIDIA, AMD or Intel Arc graphics need at least 6 GB of video memory.jan.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

LM Studio:

  • Macs need an Apple silicon chip (M1 to M4) and macOS 14 or newer; 16 GB of memory or more is recommended. Windows on x64 (with AVX2) or ARM; 16 GB of memory and 4 GB of dedicated graphics memory recommended.lmstudio.aichecked 2026-10-11

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Jan:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Use at work

LM Studio:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open