Skip to content
AIupick

GrokvsMicrosoft Copilot

Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Grok

by SpaceXAI

Grok is an AI chat assistant from SpaceXAI on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions that need current web and X information or for summarizing an uploaded file.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Grok facts

Microsoft Copilot

by Microsoft

Microsoft Copilot is Microsoft's AI chat assistant for personal Microsoft accounts on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for everyday questions, web-based answers, or asking about an uploaded file or image.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Microsoft Copilot facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsGrok: Grok 4.6, Grok 4.7, Grok 4.5Microsoft Copilot: GPT-5
  • Web searchGrok: Limited, SupportedMicrosoft Copilot: Supported
  • PlatformsGrok: Web, Mobile appMicrosoft Copilot: Web, Desktop app, Mobile app
  • AccountGrok: Use without logging in is offered where available; otherwise an account is requiredMicrosoft Copilot: Account required: the free tier needs a signed-in Microsoft account
  • Usage limitsGrok: Free use within limits (amount not stated), One shared weekly usage pool across Chat, Imagine, Voice and Build, Increased limits at regular speed, Significantly higher usage than SuperGrok, Highest usageMicrosoft Copilot: Feature limits per time period plus monthly AI credits, Signing in adds chat history, more image creation, longer conversations and longer voice sessions
  • Agent modeGrok: SupportedMicrosoft Copilot: Limited
  • Runs code and analyses dataGrok: SupportedMicrosoft Copilot: Supported
  • Connects toGrok: Gmail & Google Calendar, Google Drive, OneDrive, Outlook Mail & Calendar, Microsoft Teams, SharePoint, Salesforce, Box, Canva, Gamma, GitHub, Linear, Meltwater, Notion, S&P Global, VercelMicrosoft Copilot: OneDrive, Google Drive

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: file upload, image input, projects. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: where it is available, context window, used to train AI, can switch off training, how long data is kept, custom assistants, deep research. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, memory, voice conversation.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Grok

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Lite Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • SuperGrok Paid, individual$30.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Plus Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Heavy Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • Business TeamPrice not confirmed

Through the API: about $1.02 – $2.40 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 6 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for Grok

Microsoft Copilot

  • Copilot (free) Free planPrice not confirmed
  • Microsoft 365 Personal Paid, individual$9.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Family Paid, individual$12.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Premium Paid, individual$19.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Pro Paid, individual$99.99 / month
Plan details and sources for Microsoft Copilot

Full comparison with sources

GrokMicrosoft Copilot

What it is for

What it is for

Grok:

Grok is an AI chat assistant from SpaceXAI on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions that need current web and X information or for summarizing an uploaded file.

Microsoft Copilot:

Microsoft Copilot is Microsoft's AI chat assistant for personal Microsoft accounts on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for everyday questions, web-based answers, or asking about an uploaded file or image.

Editor's suggestion

Grok:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Grok:

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot (free) plan

Plans and prices

Grok:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Lite (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • SuperGrok (Paid, individual)$30.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Plus (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • SuperGrok Heavy (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • Business (Team)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Copilot (free) (Free plan)Price not confirmed
  • Microsoft 365 Personal (Paid, individual)$9.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Family (Paid, individual)$12.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Premium (Paid, individual)$19.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Pro (Paid, individual)$99.99 / month
  • All plan details and sources

Through the API

Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.

Grok:

  • Grok Build 0.1$1.00 in · $2.00 out · about $1.02 a month
  • Grok 4.3$1.25 in · $2.50 out · about $1.28 a month
  • Grok 4.20$1.25 in · $2.50 out · about $1.28 a month
  • Grok 4.7$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
  • Grok 4.6$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
  • Grok 4.5$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

Microsoft Copilot:

Not in our API price list

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Grok:

  • Grok 4.6, Grok 4.7, Grok 4.5x.ai +2checked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • GPT-5support.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

Input and output

File upload

You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.

Grok:

  • Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Web, Mobile app

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

Image input

You can give it an image to describe or analyse.

Grok:

  • Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Web, Mobile app

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

Voice conversation

Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.

Grok:

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Runs code and analyses data

Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.

Grok:

  • Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

  • Supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Checking facts

Web search

It can search the web while answering.

Grok:

  • Limitedx.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

    Free plan: real-time web and X search is limited.

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Deep research

A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.

Grok:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Grok:

  • Web, Mobile appdocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile appcopilot.comchecked 2026-10-10

Memory

Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.

Grok:

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Projects

Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.

Grok:

  • Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Personal, Microsoft 365 Family, Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Custom assistants

Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.

Grok:

  • Limitedx.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Custom Skills (reusable instructions), not standalone assistants.

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Agent mode

Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.

Grok:

  • Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus, SuperGrok Heavy

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Limitedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro · Region: US, Canada

    Cowork for personal accounts is in Preview (same page). The AI credits page lists it for Premium and Pro only, currently in the US and Canada.

Connects to

Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.

Grok:

  • Gmail & Google Calendar, Google Drive, OneDrive, Outlook Mail & Calendar, Microsoft Teams, SharePoint, Salesforce, Box, Canva, Gamma, GitHub, Linear, Meltwater, Notion, S&P Global, Verceldocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11

Microsoft Copilot:

  • OneDrive, Google Drivesupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

Grok:

  • Use without logging in is offered where available; otherwise an account is requiredx.aichecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Account required: the free tier needs a signed-in Microsoft accountcopilot.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

Grok:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Available in over 170 markets; not available or not supported in China (excluding Hong Kong SAR) and embargoed marketssupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Grok:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Where it is available, Deep research

Microsoft Copilot:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Context window, Used to train AI, Can switch off training, How long data is kept, Custom assistants

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open