GrokvsKimi
Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
Grok
by SpaceXAI
Grok is an AI chat assistant from SpaceXAI on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions that need current web and X information or for summarizing an uploaded file.
Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research
All Grok factsKimi
by Moonshot AI
Kimi is an AI assistant from Moonshot AI that runs on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for questions answered with web search, reading uploaded PDFs or spreadsheets, or drafting slides and documents.
Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research
All Kimi factsWhere they differ
- AI modelsGrok: Grok 4.6, Grok 4.7, Grok 4.5Kimi: Kimi K3, K3 Swarm
- Web searchGrok: Limited, SupportedKimi: Supported
- PlatformsGrok: Web, Mobile appKimi: Web, Desktop app, Mobile app
- Usage limitsGrok: Free use within limits (amount not stated), One shared weekly usage pool across Chat, Imagine, Voice and Build, Increased limits at regular speed, Significantly higher usage than SuperGrok, Highest usageKimi: More agent credits than Free, 2x agent credits, 5x agent credits, 10x agent credits
- Context windowGrok: 2x longer conversations than Free, 5x longer conversations than FreeKimi: About 128K tokens per turn with the K2.6 model, Up to 1M tokens
- Used to train AIGrok: Used to improve models unless you turn it off, Not used to train models by defaultKimi: Used to improve models (de-identified) unless you opt out via support
- Can switch off trainingGrok: SupportedKimi: Limited
- How long data is keptGrok: Kept until you delete it; deleted chats removed within 30 days. Deletion takes up to 30 daysKimi: Stored in mainland China
- Connects toGrok: Gmail & Google Calendar, Google Drive, OneDrive, Outlook Mail & Calendar, Microsoft Teams, SharePoint, Salesforce, Box, Canva, Gamma, GitHub, Linear, Meltwater, Notion, S&P Global, VercelKimi: Notion, Baidu Netdisk, GitHub, Supabase, Neon, Cloudflare
Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: file upload, image input, agent mode. The table below shows the conditions.
Confirmed for only one of the two so far: account, deep research. The table below shows which.
Same answer for both: free plan, memory, projects, custom assistants, voice conversation, runs code and analyses data.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
Grok
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month
- SuperGrok Lite Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
- SuperGrok Paid, individual$30.00 / month
- SuperGrok Plus Paid, individual$100.00 / month
- SuperGrok Heavy Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
- Business TeamPrice not confirmed
Through the API: about $1.02 – $2.40 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 6 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.
Plan details and sources for GrokKimi
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month
- Plus Paid, individual$19.00 / month
- Pro Paid, individual$39.00 / month
- Max Paid, individual$99.00 / month
- Ultra Paid, individual$199.00 / month
- Premium (企业版) Team$600.00 / year, annual commitment
Through the API: about $1.35 – $4.68 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 4 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.
Plan details and sources for KimiFull comparison with sources
| General assistant | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | Grok is an AI chat assistant from SpaceXAI on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions that need current web and X information or for summarizing an uploaded file. | Kimi is an AI assistant from Moonshot AI that runs on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for questions answered with web search, reading uploaded PDFs or spreadsheets, or drafting slides and documents. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion |
|
|
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| Through the APIPer 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month. |
|
|
| AI models | ||
| AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date. |
|
|
| Input and output | ||
| File uploadYou can give it files such as PDFs or documents. |
|
|
| Image inputYou can give it an image to describe or analyse. |
|
|
| Voice conversationTalk to it out loud and hear it answer. |
|
|
| Runs code and analyses dataRuns code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text. |
|
|
| Checking facts | ||
| Web searchIt can search the web while answering. |
|
|
| Deep researchA mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| PlatformsWhere the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension. |
|
|
| MemoryRemembers things you told it in earlier chats. |
|
|
| ProjectsGroup chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions. |
|
|
| Custom assistantsMake your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems. |
|
|
| Agent modeCan take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms. |
|
|
| Connects toApps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| AccountWhether you need to sign up before using it. |
|
|
| Not yet confirmed | ||
| Where it is availableCountries or regions where the provider says it can be used. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Where it is available, Deep research | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Account, Where it is available |
What it is for
What it is for
Grok:
Grok is an AI chat assistant from SpaceXAI on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions that need current web and X information or for summarizing an uploaded file.
Kimi:
Kimi is an AI assistant from Moonshot AI that runs on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for questions answered with web search, reading uploaded PDFs or spreadsheets, or drafting slides and documents.
Editor's suggestion
Grok:
- Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
- Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.
Kimi:
- Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
- Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.
Cost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
Grok:
- Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Plans and prices
Grok:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- SuperGrok Lite (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
- SuperGrok (Paid, individual)$30.00 / month
- SuperGrok Plus (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
- SuperGrok Heavy (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
- Business (Team)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
Kimi:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Plus (Paid, individual)$19.00 / month
- Pro (Paid, individual)$39.00 / month
- Max (Paid, individual)$99.00 / month
- Ultra (Paid, individual)$199.00 / month
- Premium (企业版) (Team)$600.00 / year, annual commitment
- All plan details and sources
Through the API
Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.
Grok:
- Grok Build 0.1$1.00 in · $2.00 out · about $1.02 a month
- Grok 4.3$1.25 in · $2.50 out · about $1.28 a month
- Grok 4.20$1.25 in · $2.50 out · about $1.28 a month
- Grok 4.7$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
- Grok 4.6$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
- Grok 4.5$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
- Official price pageHow we count
Kimi:
- Kimi K2.7 Code$0.95 in · $4.00 out · about $1.35 a month
- Kimi K2.6$0.95 in · $4.00 out · about $1.35 a month
- Kimi K2.7 Code HighSpeed$1.90 in · $8.00 out · about $2.69 a month
- Kimi K3$3.00 in · $15.00 out · about $4.68 a month
- Official price pageHow we count
AI models
AI models
The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
Grok:
- Grok 4.6, Grok 4.7, Grok 4.5x.ai +2checked 2026-10-10
Kimi:
- Kimi K3, K3 Swarmkimi.com +1checked 2026-10-10
Input and output
File upload
You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.
Grok:
- Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified · On: Web, Mobile app
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Image input
You can give it an image to describe or analyse.
Grok:
- Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified · On: Web, Mobile app
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Voice conversation
Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.
Grok:
- Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Runs code and analyses data
Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.
Grok:
- Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Checking facts
Web search
It can search the web while answering.
Grok:
- Limitedx.aichecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Free plan: real-time web and X search is limited.
- Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Deep research
A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.
Grok:
- Not yet confirmed
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Workflow
Platforms
Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.
Grok:
- Web, Mobile appdocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-10
Kimi:
- Web, Desktop app, Mobile appkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Memory
Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.
Grok:
- Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Projects
Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.
Grok:
- Supporteddocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Custom assistants
Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.
Grok:
- Limitedx.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Custom Skills (reusable instructions), not standalone assistants.
Kimi:
- Limitedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Custom Skills (reusable instructions), not standalone assistants.
Agent mode
Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.
Grok:
- Supportedx.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plans: SuperGrok, SuperGrok Plus, SuperGrok Heavy
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Connects to
Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.
Grok:
- Gmail & Google Calendar, Google Drive, OneDrive, Outlook Mail & Calendar, Microsoft Teams, SharePoint, Salesforce, Box, Canva, Gamma, GitHub, Linear, Meltwater, Notion, S&P Global, Verceldocs.x.aichecked 2026-10-11
Kimi:
- Notion, Baidu Netdisk, GitHub, Supabase, Neon, Cloudflarekimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Requirements
Account
Whether you need to sign up before using it.
Grok:
- Use without logging in is offered where available; otherwise an account is requiredx.aichecked 2026-10-10
Kimi:
- Not yet confirmed
Not yet confirmed
Where it is available
Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.
Grok:
- Not yet confirmed
Kimi:
- Not yet confirmed
Sources and confidence
Confidence
Grok:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Where it is available, Deep research
Kimi:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Account, Where it is available
