Skip to content
AIupick

ClaudevsMicrosoft Copilot

Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Claude

by Anthropic

Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Claude facts

Microsoft Copilot

by Microsoft

Microsoft Copilot is Microsoft's AI chat assistant for personal Microsoft accounts on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for everyday questions, web-based answers, or asking about an uploaded file or image.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Microsoft Copilot facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsClaude: Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5Microsoft Copilot: GPT-5
  • AccountClaude: Account required (log in with Google or with an email link)Microsoft Copilot: Account required: the free tier needs a signed-in Microsoft account
  • Where it is availableClaude: Available in the countries listed on the official 'Where can I access Claude?' pageMicrosoft Copilot: Available in over 170 markets; not available or not supported in China (excluding Hong Kong SAR) and embargoed markets
  • Usage limitsClaude: Session-based usage limit that resets every five hours, Session-based usage limit that resets every five hours. Weekly usage limit across all models, 5x the Pro plan's per-session usage. 20x the Pro plan's per-session usage. Weekly usage limit across all models. Larger per-session allowance than Pro. Significantly more usage than Standard seats. No per-seat usage limits; all usage billed at API ratesMicrosoft Copilot: Feature limits per time period plus monthly AI credits, Signing in adds chat history, more image creation, longer conversations and longer voice sessions
  • Agent modeClaude: SupportedMicrosoft Copilot: Limited
  • Runs code and analyses dataClaude: SupportedMicrosoft Copilot: Supported
  • Connects toClaude: Linear, Slack, Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Canva, Microsoft 365, Notion, Figma, HubSpot, Asana, monday.comMicrosoft Copilot: OneDrive, Google Drive

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: file upload, image input, web search, projects, deep research. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: context window, used to train AI, can switch off training, how long data is kept. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, platforms, memory, voice conversation.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Claude

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month, plus tax
  • Team Team$20.00 / month, billed annually, plus tax

Through the API: about $0.16 – $16 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 4 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for Claude

Microsoft Copilot

  • Copilot (free) Free planPrice not confirmed
  • Microsoft 365 Personal Paid, individual$9.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Family Paid, individual$12.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Premium Paid, individual$19.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Pro Paid, individual$99.99 / month
Plan details and sources for Microsoft Copilot

Full comparison with sources

ClaudeMicrosoft Copilot

What it is for

What it is for

Claude:

Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search.

Microsoft Copilot:

Microsoft Copilot is Microsoft's AI chat assistant for personal Microsoft accounts on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for everyday questions, web-based answers, or asking about an uploaded file or image.

Editor's suggestion

Claude:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Claude:

  • Supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot (free) plan

Plans and prices

Claude:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month, plus tax
  • Team (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually, plus tax
  • All plan details and sources

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Copilot (free) (Free plan)Price not confirmed
  • Microsoft 365 Personal (Paid, individual)$9.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Family (Paid, individual)$12.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Premium (Paid, individual)$19.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Pro (Paid, individual)$99.99 / month
  • All plan details and sources

Through the API

Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.

Claude:

  • Claude Haiku 5.5$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
  • Claude Sonnet 5.5$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • Claude Opus 5.5$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
  • Claude Fable 5.1$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

Microsoft Copilot:

Not in our API price list

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Claude:

  • Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5support.claude.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • GPT-5support.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

Input and output

File upload

You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

Image input

You can give it an image to describe or analyse.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

Voice conversation

Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Runs code and analyses data

Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

  • Supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Checking facts

Web search

It can search the web while answering.

Claude:

  • Supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Pro, Max

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Deep research

A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Max, Team

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Claude:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile appclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile appcopilot.comchecked 2026-10-10

Memory

Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Projects

Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Personal, Microsoft 365 Family, Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Agent mode

Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.

Claude:

  • Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Max, Team

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Limitedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro · Region: US, Canada

    Cowork for personal accounts is in Preview (same page). The AI credits page lists it for Premium and Pro only, currently in the US and Canada.

Connects to

Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.

Claude:

  • Linear, Slack, Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Canva, Microsoft 365, Notion, Figma, HubSpot, Asana, monday.comsupport.claude.com +2checked 2026-10-11

Microsoft Copilot:

  • OneDrive, Google Drivesupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

Claude:

  • Account required (log in with Google or with an email link)support.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Account required: the free tier needs a signed-in Microsoft accountcopilot.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

Claude:

  • Available in the countries listed on the official 'Where can I access Claude?' pagesupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Available in over 170 markets; not available or not supported in China (excluding Hong Kong SAR) and embargoed marketssupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

Not yet confirmed

Custom assistants

Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.

Claude:

  • Not yet confirmed

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Not yet confirmed

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Claude:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Custom assistants

Microsoft Copilot:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Context window, Used to train AI, Can switch off training, How long data is kept, Custom assistants

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open