ClaudevsKimi
Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
Claude
by Anthropic
Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search.
Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research
All Claude factsKimi
by Moonshot AI
Kimi is an AI assistant from Moonshot AI that runs on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for questions answered with web search, reading uploaded PDFs or spreadsheets, or drafting slides and documents.
Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research
All Kimi factsWhere they differ
- AI modelsClaude: Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5Kimi: Kimi K3, K3 Swarm
- Usage limitsClaude: Session-based usage limit that resets every five hours, Session-based usage limit that resets every five hours. Weekly usage limit across all models, 5x the Pro plan's per-session usage. 20x the Pro plan's per-session usage. Weekly usage limit across all models. Larger per-session allowance than Pro. Significantly more usage than Standard seats. No per-seat usage limits; all usage billed at API ratesKimi: More agent credits than Free, 2x agent credits, 5x agent credits, 10x agent credits
- Context windowClaude: Up to 1M tokens on the newest models; 500K or 200K tokens on othersKimi: About 128K tokens per turn with the K2.6 model, Up to 1M tokens
- Used to train AIClaude: Your choice: new users pick the model-training setting at sign-up, Not used to train models by defaultKimi: Used to improve models (de-identified) unless you opt out via support
- Can switch off trainingClaude: SupportedKimi: Limited
- How long data is keptClaude: Deleted chats are removed from back-end storage within 30 days. Up to 5 years (de-identified) if you allow model training. 30 days if you do not allow model trainingKimi: Stored in mainland China
- Connects toClaude: Linear, Slack, Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Canva, Microsoft 365, Notion, Figma, HubSpot, Asana, monday.comKimi: Notion, Baidu Netdisk, GitHub, Supabase, Neon, Cloudflare
Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: web search, agent mode, deep research. The table below shows the conditions.
Confirmed for only one of the two so far: account, where it is available, custom assistants. The table below shows which.
Same answer for both: free plan, file upload, image input, platforms, memory, projects, voice conversation, runs code and analyses data.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
Claude
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month, plus tax
- Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month, plus tax
- Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month, plus tax
- Team Team$20.00 / month, billed annually, plus tax
Through the API: about $0.16 – $16 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 4 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.
Plan details and sources for ClaudeKimi
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month
- Plus Paid, individual$19.00 / month
- Pro Paid, individual$39.00 / month
- Max Paid, individual$99.00 / month
- Ultra Paid, individual$199.00 / month
- Premium (企业版) Team$600.00 / year, annual commitment
Through the API: about $1.35 – $4.68 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 4 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.
Plan details and sources for KimiFull comparison with sources
| General assistant | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search. | Kimi is an AI assistant from Moonshot AI that runs on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for questions answered with web search, reading uploaded PDFs or spreadsheets, or drafting slides and documents. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion |
|
|
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| Through the APIPer 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month. |
|
|
| AI models | ||
| AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date. |
|
|
| Input and output | ||
| File uploadYou can give it files such as PDFs or documents. |
|
|
| Image inputYou can give it an image to describe or analyse. |
|
|
| Voice conversationTalk to it out loud and hear it answer. |
|
|
| Runs code and analyses dataRuns code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text. |
|
|
| Checking facts | ||
| Web searchIt can search the web while answering. |
|
|
| Deep researchA mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| PlatformsWhere the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension. |
|
|
| MemoryRemembers things you told it in earlier chats. |
|
|
| ProjectsGroup chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions. |
|
|
| Custom assistantsMake your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems. |
|
|
| Agent modeCan take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms. |
|
|
| Connects toApps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| AccountWhether you need to sign up before using it. |
|
|
| Where it is availableCountries or regions where the provider says it can be used. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Custom assistants | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Account, Where it is available |
What it is for
What it is for
Claude:
Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search.
Kimi:
Kimi is an AI assistant from Moonshot AI that runs on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for questions answered with web search, reading uploaded PDFs or spreadsheets, or drafting slides and documents.
Editor's suggestion
Claude:
- Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
- Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.
Kimi:
- Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
- Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.
Cost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
Claude:
- Supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Plans and prices
Claude:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month, plus tax
- Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month, plus tax
- Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month, plus tax
- Team (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually, plus tax
- All plan details and sources
Kimi:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Plus (Paid, individual)$19.00 / month
- Pro (Paid, individual)$39.00 / month
- Max (Paid, individual)$99.00 / month
- Ultra (Paid, individual)$199.00 / month
- Premium (企业版) (Team)$600.00 / year, annual commitment
- All plan details and sources
Through the API
Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.
Claude:
- Claude Haiku 5.5$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
- Claude Sonnet 5.5$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
- Claude Opus 5.5$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
- Claude Fable 5.1$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
- Official price pageHow we count
Kimi:
- Kimi K2.7 Code$0.95 in · $4.00 out · about $1.35 a month
- Kimi K2.6$0.95 in · $4.00 out · about $1.35 a month
- Kimi K2.7 Code HighSpeed$1.90 in · $8.00 out · about $2.69 a month
- Kimi K3$3.00 in · $15.00 out · about $4.68 a month
- Official price pageHow we count
AI models
AI models
The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
Claude:
- Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5support.claude.com +1checked 2026-10-10
Kimi:
- Kimi K3, K3 Swarmkimi.com +1checked 2026-10-10
Input and output
File upload
You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Image input
You can give it an image to describe or analyse.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Voice conversation
Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Runs code and analyses data
Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Checking facts
Web search
It can search the web while answering.
Claude:
- Supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plans: Free, Pro, Max
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Deep research
A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Pro, Max, Team
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Workflow
Platforms
Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.
Claude:
- Web, Desktop app, Mobile appclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Kimi:
- Web, Desktop app, Mobile appkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10
Memory
Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Projects
Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Custom assistants
Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.
Claude:
- Not yet confirmed
Kimi:
- Limitedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Custom Skills (reusable instructions), not standalone assistants.
Agent mode
Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Pro, Max, Team
Kimi:
- Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Connects to
Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.
Claude:
- Linear, Slack, Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Canva, Microsoft 365, Notion, Figma, HubSpot, Asana, monday.comsupport.claude.com +2checked 2026-10-11
Kimi:
- Notion, Baidu Netdisk, GitHub, Supabase, Neon, Cloudflarekimi.comchecked 2026-10-11
Requirements
Account
Whether you need to sign up before using it.
Claude:
- Account required (log in with Google or with an email link)support.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Kimi:
- Not yet confirmed
Where it is available
Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.
Claude:
- Available in the countries listed on the official 'Where can I access Claude?' pagesupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Kimi:
- Not yet confirmed
Sources and confidence
Confidence
Claude:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Custom assistants
Kimi:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Account, Where it is available
