ChatGPTvsQwen Chat
Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
ChatGPT
by OpenAI
ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.
Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research
All ChatGPT factsQwen Chat
by Alibaba (Qwen team)
Qwen Chat is an AI assistant built on Alibaba's Qwen models, used on the web and in mobile and desktop apps; a beginner might try it for questions with web search, summarizing uploaded documents, or asking about images.
Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research
All Qwen Chat factsWhere they differ
- File uploadChatGPT: Supported, LimitedQwen Chat: Supported
- Usage limitsChatGPT: Unlimited everyday text chats (abuse safeguards apply); separate limits on file uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis and other tools, May include message caps, especially during high demand, Included usage rises by tier: Pro 200 more than Pro 100, Pro 500 the most. Per-model allowances; a model can be unavailable until its allowance resets. Both Pro models draw from one weekly allowance. 15 Pro-model messages per month, shared across GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro. 50 Pro-model messages per week, shared across the two Pro models. 5x the usage of Standard seats and no 5-hour usage limitQwen Chat: Each paid plan has a usage allowance per period; amounts not public
- Used to train AIChatGPT: Used to improve models unless you turn it off, Not used to train models by defaultQwen Chat: Used to improve models (de-identified) unless you opt out by email
- Can switch off trainingChatGPT: SupportedQwen Chat: Limited
- How long data is keptChatGPT: Deleted chats are permanently deleted within 30 days, unless de-identified or kept longer for security or legal obligations. Temporary chats may be kept up to 30 days for safetyQwen Chat: Stored in Singapore; kept only as long as necessary
- Agent modeChatGPT: SupportedQwen Chat: Limited
Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: image input, web search. The table below shows the conditions.
Confirmed for only one of the two so far: AI models, account, where it is available, context window, projects, custom assistants, connects to. The table below shows which.
Same answer for both: free plan, platforms, memory, voice conversation, runs code and analyses data, deep research.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
ChatGPT
- Free Free plan$0.00 / monthshown for United States
- Go Paid, individual$8.00 / monthshown for United States
- Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / monthshown for United States
- Pro Paid, individual$100.00 / monthshown for United States
- Business TeamPrice not confirmed
Through the API: about $0.16 – $52 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 8 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.
Plan details and sources for ChatGPTQwen Chat
- Free Free planPrice not confirmed
- Qwen Go Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
- Qwen Plus Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
- Qwen Pro Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
Through the API: about $0.04 – $2.40 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 4 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.
Plan details and sources for Qwen ChatFull comparison with sources
| General assistant | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image. | Qwen Chat is an AI assistant built on Alibaba's Qwen models, used on the web and in mobile and desktop apps; a beginner might try it for questions with web search, summarizing uploaded documents, or asking about images. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion |
|
|
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| Through the APIPer 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month. |
|
|
| AI models | ||
| AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date. |
|
|
| Input and output | ||
| File uploadYou can give it files such as PDFs or documents. |
|
|
| Image inputYou can give it an image to describe or analyse. |
|
|
| Voice conversationTalk to it out loud and hear it answer. |
|
|
| Runs code and analyses dataRuns code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text. |
|
|
| Checking facts | ||
| Web searchIt can search the web while answering. |
|
|
| Deep researchA mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| PlatformsWhere the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension. |
|
|
| MemoryRemembers things you told it in earlier chats. |
|
|
| ProjectsGroup chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions. |
|
|
| Custom assistantsMake your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems. |
|
|
| Agent modeCan take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms. |
|
|
| Connects toApps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| AccountWhether you need to sign up before using it. |
|
|
| Where it is availableCountries or regions where the provider says it can be used. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Context window | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: AI models, Account, Where it is available, Projects, Custom assistants, Connects to |
What it is for
What it is for
ChatGPT:
ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.
Qwen Chat:
Qwen Chat is an AI assistant built on Alibaba's Qwen models, used on the web and in mobile and desktop apps; a beginner might try it for questions with web search, summarizing uploaded documents, or asking about images.
Editor's suggestion
ChatGPT:
- Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
- Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.
Qwen Chat:
- Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
- Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.
Cost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedchatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Qwen Chat:
- Supportedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Plans and prices
ChatGPT:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month (shown for United States)
- Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month (shown for United States)
- Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month (shown for United States)
- Pro (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month (shown for United States)
- Business (Team)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
Qwen Chat:
- Free (Free plan)Price not confirmed
- Qwen Go (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
- Qwen Plus (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
- Qwen Pro (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
Through the API
Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.
ChatGPT:
- GPT-6 Luna$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
- GPT-5.6 Luna$0.20 in · $1.20 out · about $0.35 a month
- GPT-6.1 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
- GPT-6 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
- GPT-5.6 Terra$2.00 in · $12.00 out · about $3.48 a month
- GPT-5.6 Sol$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
- GPT-6 Astra$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
- GPT-5.5 Pro$30.00 in · $180.00 out · about $52 a month
- Official price pageHow we count
Qwen Chat:
- qwen3.7-flash$0.03 in · $0.13 out · about $0.04 a month
- qwen3.8-flash$0.15 in · $0.47 out · about $0.18 a month
- qwen3.7-plus$0.40 in · $1.60 out · about $0.55 a month
- qwen3.8-max$2.00 in · $6.00 out · about $2.40 a month
- Official price pageHow we count
AI models
AI models
The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
ChatGPT:
- GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 Lunahelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Qwen Chat:
- Not yet confirmed
Input and output
File upload
You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plans: Go, Plus, Pro, Business · On: Web, Mobile app
- Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Free plan: 3 file uploads per day. Audio uploads are not available on Free.
Qwen Chat:
- Supportedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Image input
You can give it an image to describe or analyse.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business
Qwen Chat:
- Supportedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Voice conversation
Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Qwen Chat:
- Supportedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Runs code and analyses data
Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Qwen Chat:
- Supportedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Checking facts
Web search
It can search the web while answering.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business
Qwen Chat:
- Supportedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Deep research
A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Qwen Chat:
- Supportedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Workflow
Platforms
Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.
ChatGPT:
- Web, Desktop app, Mobile apphelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Qwen Chat:
- Web, Desktop app, Mobile appqwen.aichecked 2026-10-10
Memory
Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Qwen Chat:
- Supportedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Projects
Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Qwen Chat:
- Not yet confirmed
Custom assistants
Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.
ChatGPT:
- Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro
Existing GPTs can still be used; the same page says OpenAI plans to retire custom GPTs and recommends Plugins instead.
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Business plan
Qwen Chat:
- Not yet confirmed
Agent mode
Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Plus, Pro, Business
Qwen Chat:
- Limitedqwen.aichecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Described for the Qwen for Chrome extension in a model post; the extension is not on qwen.ai/download.
Connects to
Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.
ChatGPT:
- Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointhelp.openai.com +1checked 2026-10-11
Qwen Chat:
- Not yet confirmed
Requirements
Account
Whether you need to sign up before using it.
ChatGPT:
- Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settinghelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Qwen Chat:
- Not yet confirmed
Where it is available
Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.
ChatGPT:
- Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pagehelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Qwen Chat:
- Not yet confirmed
Sources and confidence
Confidence
ChatGPT:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Context window
Qwen Chat:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: AI models, Account, Where it is available, Projects, Custom assistants, Connects to

