Skip to content
AIupick

ChatGPTvsMicrosoft Copilot

Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

ChatGPT

by OpenAI

ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All ChatGPT facts

Microsoft Copilot

by Microsoft

Microsoft Copilot is Microsoft's AI chat assistant for personal Microsoft accounts on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for everyday questions, web-based answers, or asking about an uploaded file or image.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Microsoft Copilot facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsChatGPT: GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 LunaMicrosoft Copilot: GPT-5
  • File uploadChatGPT: Supported, LimitedMicrosoft Copilot: Supported
  • AccountChatGPT: Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settingMicrosoft Copilot: Account required: the free tier needs a signed-in Microsoft account
  • Where it is availableChatGPT: Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pageMicrosoft Copilot: Available in over 170 markets; not available or not supported in China (excluding Hong Kong SAR) and embargoed markets
  • Usage limitsChatGPT: Unlimited everyday text chats (abuse safeguards apply); separate limits on file uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis and other tools, May include message caps, especially during high demand, Included usage rises by tier: Pro 200 more than Pro 100, Pro 500 the most. Per-model allowances; a model can be unavailable until its allowance resets. Both Pro models draw from one weekly allowance. 15 Pro-model messages per month, shared across GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro. 50 Pro-model messages per week, shared across the two Pro models. 5x the usage of Standard seats and no 5-hour usage limitMicrosoft Copilot: Feature limits per time period plus monthly AI credits, Signing in adds chat history, more image creation, longer conversations and longer voice sessions
  • Agent modeChatGPT: SupportedMicrosoft Copilot: Limited
  • Runs code and analyses dataChatGPT: SupportedMicrosoft Copilot: Supported
  • Connects toChatGPT: Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointMicrosoft Copilot: OneDrive, Google Drive

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: image input, web search, projects, deep research. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: used to train AI, can switch off training, how long data is kept, custom assistants. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, platforms, memory, voice conversation.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

ChatGPT

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Go Paid, individual$8.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Pro Paid, individual$100.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Business TeamPrice not confirmed

Through the API: about $0.16 – $52 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 8 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for ChatGPT

Microsoft Copilot

  • Copilot (free) Free planPrice not confirmed
  • Microsoft 365 Personal Paid, individual$9.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Family Paid, individual$12.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Premium Paid, individual$19.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Pro Paid, individual$99.99 / month
Plan details and sources for Microsoft Copilot

Full comparison with sources

ChatGPTMicrosoft Copilot

What it is for

What it is for

ChatGPT:

ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.

Microsoft Copilot:

Microsoft Copilot is Microsoft's AI chat assistant for personal Microsoft accounts on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for everyday questions, web-based answers, or asking about an uploaded file or image.

Editor's suggestion

ChatGPT:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedchatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot (free) plan

Plans and prices

ChatGPT:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Business (Team)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Copilot (free) (Free plan)Price not confirmed
  • Microsoft 365 Personal (Paid, individual)$9.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Family (Paid, individual)$12.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Premium (Paid, individual)$19.99 / month
  • Microsoft 365 Pro (Paid, individual)$99.99 / month
  • All plan details and sources

Through the API

Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.

ChatGPT:

  • GPT-6 Luna$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Luna$0.20 in · $1.20 out · about $0.35 a month
  • GPT-6.1 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • GPT-6 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Terra$2.00 in · $12.00 out · about $3.48 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Sol$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
  • GPT-6 Astra$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
  • GPT-5.5 Pro$30.00 in · $180.00 out · about $52 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

Microsoft Copilot:

Not in our API price list

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

ChatGPT:

  • GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 Lunahelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • GPT-5support.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

Input and output

File upload

You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Go, Plus, Pro, Business · On: Web, Mobile app

  • Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

    Free plan: 3 file uploads per day. Audio uploads are not available on Free.

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

Image input

You can give it an image to describe or analyse.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

Voice conversation

Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Runs code and analyses data

Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

  • Supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Checking facts

Web search

It can search the web while answering.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Deep research

A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

ChatGPT:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile apphelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile appcopilot.comchecked 2026-10-10

Memory

Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Projects

Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Supportedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Personal, Microsoft 365 Family, Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro

Custom assistants

Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.

ChatGPT:

  • Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro

    Existing GPTs can still be used; the same page says OpenAI plans to retire custom GPTs and recommends Plugins instead.

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Business plan

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Agent mode

Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Plus, Pro, Business

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Limitedsupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Microsoft 365 Premium, Microsoft 365 Pro · Region: US, Canada

    Cowork for personal accounts is in Preview (same page). The AI credits page lists it for Premium and Pro only, currently in the US and Canada.

Connects to

Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.

ChatGPT:

  • Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointhelp.openai.com +1checked 2026-10-11

Microsoft Copilot:

  • OneDrive, Google Drivesupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

ChatGPT:

  • Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settinghelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Account required: the free tier needs a signed-in Microsoft accountcopilot.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

ChatGPT:

  • Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pagehelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Available in over 170 markets; not available or not supported in China (excluding Hong Kong SAR) and embargoed marketssupport.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-10

Not yet confirmed

Context window

How much text it can take in at once (a long document, a long chat).

ChatGPT:

  • Not yet confirmed

Microsoft Copilot:

  • Not yet confirmed

Sources and confidence

Confidence

ChatGPT:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Context window

Microsoft Copilot:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Context window, Used to train AI, Can switch off training, How long data is kept, Custom assistants

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open