Skip to content
AIupick

ChatGPTvsKimi

Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

ChatGPT

by OpenAI

ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All ChatGPT facts

Kimi

by Moonshot AI

Kimi is an AI assistant from Moonshot AI that runs on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for questions answered with web search, reading uploaded PDFs or spreadsheets, or drafting slides and documents.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All Kimi facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsChatGPT: GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 LunaKimi: Kimi K3, K3 Swarm
  • File uploadChatGPT: Supported, LimitedKimi: Supported
  • Usage limitsChatGPT: Unlimited everyday text chats (abuse safeguards apply); separate limits on file uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis and other tools, May include message caps, especially during high demand, Included usage rises by tier: Pro 200 more than Pro 100, Pro 500 the most. Per-model allowances; a model can be unavailable until its allowance resets. Both Pro models draw from one weekly allowance. 15 Pro-model messages per month, shared across GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro. 50 Pro-model messages per week, shared across the two Pro models. 5x the usage of Standard seats and no 5-hour usage limitKimi: More agent credits than Free, 2x agent credits, 5x agent credits, 10x agent credits
  • Used to train AIChatGPT: Used to improve models unless you turn it off, Not used to train models by defaultKimi: Used to improve models (de-identified) unless you opt out via support
  • Can switch off trainingChatGPT: SupportedKimi: Limited
  • How long data is keptChatGPT: Deleted chats are permanently deleted within 30 days, unless de-identified or kept longer for security or legal obligations. Temporary chats may be kept up to 30 days for safetyKimi: Stored in mainland China
  • Custom assistantsChatGPT: Limited, SupportedKimi: Limited
  • Connects toChatGPT: Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointKimi: Notion, Baidu Netdisk, GitHub, Supabase, Neon, Cloudflare

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: image input, web search, agent mode. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: account, where it is available, context window. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, platforms, memory, projects, voice conversation, runs code and analyses data, deep research.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

ChatGPT

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Go Paid, individual$8.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Pro Paid, individual$100.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Business TeamPrice not confirmed

Through the API: about $0.16 – $52 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 8 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for ChatGPT

Kimi

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Plus Paid, individual$19.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individual$39.00 / month
  • Max Paid, individual$99.00 / month
  • Ultra Paid, individual$199.00 / month
  • Premium (企业版) Team$600.00 / year, annual commitment

Through the API: about $1.35 – $4.68 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 4 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for Kimi

Full comparison with sources

ChatGPTKimi

What it is for

What it is for

ChatGPT:

ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.

Kimi:

Kimi is an AI assistant from Moonshot AI that runs on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for questions answered with web search, reading uploaded PDFs or spreadsheets, or drafting slides and documents.

Editor's suggestion

ChatGPT:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Kimi:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedchatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Plans and prices

ChatGPT:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Business (Team)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Kimi:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Plus (Paid, individual)$19.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$39.00 / month
  • Max (Paid, individual)$99.00 / month
  • Ultra (Paid, individual)$199.00 / month
  • Premium (企业版) (Team)$600.00 / year, annual commitment
  • All plan details and sources

Through the API

Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.

ChatGPT:

  • GPT-6 Luna$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Luna$0.20 in · $1.20 out · about $0.35 a month
  • GPT-6.1 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • GPT-6 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Terra$2.00 in · $12.00 out · about $3.48 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Sol$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
  • GPT-6 Astra$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
  • GPT-5.5 Pro$30.00 in · $180.00 out · about $52 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

Kimi:

  • Kimi K2.7 Code$0.95 in · $4.00 out · about $1.35 a month
  • Kimi K2.6$0.95 in · $4.00 out · about $1.35 a month
  • Kimi K2.7 Code HighSpeed$1.90 in · $8.00 out · about $2.69 a month
  • Kimi K3$3.00 in · $15.00 out · about $4.68 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

ChatGPT:

  • GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 Lunahelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Kimi:

  • Kimi K3, K3 Swarmkimi.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Input and output

File upload

You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Go, Plus, Pro, Business · On: Web, Mobile app

  • Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

    Free plan: 3 file uploads per day. Audio uploads are not available on Free.

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Image input

You can give it an image to describe or analyse.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Voice conversation

Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Runs code and analyses data

Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Checking facts

Web search

It can search the web while answering.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Deep research

A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

ChatGPT:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile apphelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Kimi:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile appkimi.comchecked 2026-10-10

Memory

Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Projects

Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Custom assistants

Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.

ChatGPT:

  • Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro

    Existing GPTs can still be used; the same page says OpenAI plans to retire custom GPTs and recommends Plugins instead.

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Business plan

Kimi:

  • Limitedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Custom Skills (reusable instructions), not standalone assistants.

Agent mode

Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Plus, Pro, Business

Kimi:

  • Supportedkimi.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Connects to

Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.

ChatGPT:

  • Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointhelp.openai.com +1checked 2026-10-11

Kimi:

  • Notion, Baidu Netdisk, GitHub, Supabase, Neon, Cloudflarekimi.comchecked 2026-10-11

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

ChatGPT:

  • Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settinghelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Kimi:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

ChatGPT:

  • Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pagehelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

Kimi:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Sources and confidence

Confidence

ChatGPT:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Context window

Kimi:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Account, Where it is available

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open