Skip to content
AIupick

ChatGPTvsDeepSeek

Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

ChatGPT

by OpenAI

ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All ChatGPT facts

DeepSeek

by DeepSeek

DeepSeek is an AI chat assistant on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions, writing help, or answers that use its web search function.

Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research

All DeepSeek facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsChatGPT: GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 LunaDeepSeek: V4 Pro
  • PlatformsChatGPT: Web, Desktop app, Mobile appDeepSeek: Web, Mobile app
  • AccountChatGPT: Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settingDeepSeek: Account required (email or third-party login)
  • Used to train AIChatGPT: Used to improve models unless you turn it off, Not used to train models by defaultDeepSeek: Used to improve models unless you turn it off
  • How long data is keptChatGPT: Deleted chats are permanently deleted within 30 days, unless de-identified or kept longer for security or legal obligations. Temporary chats may be kept up to 30 days for safetyDeepSeek: Stored in the People's Republic of China. Kept as long as needed to provide the service; no fixed period stated
  • Agent modeChatGPT: SupportedDeepSeek: Limited
  • Voice conversationChatGPT: SupportedDeepSeek: Limited

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: web search. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: file upload, image input, where it is available, usage limits, context window, memory, projects, custom assistants, runs code and analyses data, deep research, connects to. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, can switch off training.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

ChatGPT

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Go Paid, individual$8.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Pro Paid, individual$100.00 / monthshown for United States
  • Business TeamPrice not confirmed

Through the API: about $0.16 – $52 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 8 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for ChatGPT

DeepSeek

  • Free Free planPrice not confirmed

Through the API: about $0.41 – $1.58 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 2 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.

Plan details and sources for DeepSeek

Full comparison with sources

ChatGPTDeepSeek

What it is for

What it is for

ChatGPT:

ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.

DeepSeek:

DeepSeek is an AI chat assistant on the web and in iOS and Android apps; a beginner might try it for questions, writing help, or answers that use its web search function.

Editor's suggestion

ChatGPT:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

DeepSeek:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedchatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

DeepSeek:

  • Supporteddeepseek.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

Plans and prices

ChatGPT:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month (shown for United States)
  • Business (Team)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

DeepSeek:

Through the API

Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.

ChatGPT:

  • GPT-6 Luna$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Luna$0.20 in · $1.20 out · about $0.35 a month
  • GPT-6.1 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • GPT-6 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Terra$2.00 in · $12.00 out · about $3.48 a month
  • GPT-5.6 Sol$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
  • GPT-6 Astra$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
  • GPT-5.5 Pro$30.00 in · $180.00 out · about $52 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

DeepSeek:

  • DeepSeek-V4.1-Flash$0.30 in · $1.20 out · about $0.41 a month
  • DeepSeek-V4-Pro-0813$1.32 in · $3.96 out · about $1.58 a month
  • Official price pageHow we count

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

ChatGPT:

  • GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 Lunahelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

DeepSeek:

  • V4 Proapi-docs.deepseek.comchecked 2026-10-10

Input and output

File upload

You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Go, Plus, Pro, Business · On: Web, Mobile app

  • Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free plan

    Free plan: 3 file uploads per day. Audio uploads are not available on Free.

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Image input

You can give it an image to describe or analyse.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Voice conversation

Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

DeepSeek:

  • Limitedcdn.deepseek.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Only evidence is voice input listed in the privacy policy; no voice feature page was found.

Runs code and analyses data

Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Checking facts

Web search

It can search the web while answering.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business

DeepSeek:

  • Supportedcdn.deepseek.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Deep research

A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

ChatGPT:

  • Web, Desktop app, Mobile apphelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

DeepSeek:

  • Web, Mobile appcdn.deepseek.comchecked 2026-10-10

Memory

Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Projects

Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Custom assistants

Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.

ChatGPT:

  • Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro

    Existing GPTs can still be used; the same page says OpenAI plans to retire custom GPTs and recommends Plugins instead.

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Business plan

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Agent mode

Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.

ChatGPT:

  • Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Plus, Pro, Business

DeepSeek:

  • Limiteddeepseek.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    This is the separate DeepSeek Harness desktop app, in public preview, not the chat app.

Connects to

Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.

ChatGPT:

  • Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointhelp.openai.com +1checked 2026-10-11

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

ChatGPT:

  • Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settinghelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

DeepSeek:

  • Account required (email or third-party login)cdn.deepseek.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

ChatGPT:

  • Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pagehelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10

DeepSeek:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Sources and confidence

Confidence

ChatGPT:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Context window

DeepSeek:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: File upload, Image input, Where it is available, Usage limits, Memory, Projects, Custom assistants, Runs code and analyses data, Deep research, Connects to

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open