ChatGPTvsClaude
Two general assistant tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
ChatGPT
by OpenAI
ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.
Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research
All ChatGPT factsClaude
by Anthropic
Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search.
Good for: Writing, Learning, Office work, Research
All Claude factsWhere they differ
- AI modelsChatGPT: GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 LunaClaude: Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5
- File uploadChatGPT: Supported, LimitedClaude: Supported
- AccountChatGPT: Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settingClaude: Account required (log in with Google or with an email link)
- Where it is availableChatGPT: Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pageClaude: Available in the countries listed on the official 'Where can I access Claude?' page
- Usage limitsChatGPT: Unlimited everyday text chats (abuse safeguards apply); separate limits on file uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis and other tools, May include message caps, especially during high demand, Included usage rises by tier: Pro 200 more than Pro 100, Pro 500 the most. Per-model allowances; a model can be unavailable until its allowance resets. Both Pro models draw from one weekly allowance. 15 Pro-model messages per month, shared across GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro. 50 Pro-model messages per week, shared across the two Pro models. 5x the usage of Standard seats and no 5-hour usage limitClaude: Session-based usage limit that resets every five hours, Session-based usage limit that resets every five hours. Weekly usage limit across all models, 5x the Pro plan's per-session usage. 20x the Pro plan's per-session usage. Weekly usage limit across all models. Larger per-session allowance than Pro. Significantly more usage than Standard seats. No per-seat usage limits; all usage billed at API rates
- Used to train AIChatGPT: Used to improve models unless you turn it off, Not used to train models by defaultClaude: Your choice: new users pick the model-training setting at sign-up, Not used to train models by default
- How long data is keptChatGPT: Deleted chats are permanently deleted within 30 days, unless de-identified or kept longer for security or legal obligations. Temporary chats may be kept up to 30 days for safetyClaude: Deleted chats are removed from back-end storage within 30 days. Up to 5 years (de-identified) if you allow model training. 30 days if you do not allow model training
- Connects toChatGPT: Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointClaude: Linear, Slack, Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Canva, Microsoft 365, Notion, Figma, HubSpot, Asana, monday.com
Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: image input, web search, can switch off training, deep research. The table below shows the conditions.
Confirmed for only one of the two so far: context window, custom assistants. The table below shows which.
Same answer for both: free plan, platforms, memory, projects, agent mode, voice conversation, runs code and analyses data.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
ChatGPT
- Free Free plan$0.00 / monthshown for United States
- Go Paid, individual$8.00 / monthshown for United States
- Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / monthshown for United States
- Pro Paid, individual$100.00 / monthshown for United States
- Business TeamPrice not confirmed
Through the API: about $0.16 – $52 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 8 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.
Plan details and sources for ChatGPTClaude
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month, plus tax
- Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month, plus tax
- Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month, plus tax
- Team Team$20.00 / month, billed annually, plus tax
Through the API: about $0.16 – $16 a month for 30 short chat messages a day, across 4 models. Each model is in the full comparison below.
Plan details and sources for ClaudeFull comparison with sources
| General assistant | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image. | Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion |
|
|
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| Through the APIPer 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month. |
|
|
| AI models | ||
| AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date. |
|
|
| Input and output | ||
| File uploadYou can give it files such as PDFs or documents. |
|
|
| Image inputYou can give it an image to describe or analyse. |
|
|
| Voice conversationTalk to it out loud and hear it answer. |
|
|
| Runs code and analyses dataRuns code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text. |
|
|
| Checking facts | ||
| Web searchIt can search the web while answering. |
|
|
| Deep researchA mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| PlatformsWhere the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension. |
|
|
| MemoryRemembers things you told it in earlier chats. |
|
|
| ProjectsGroup chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions. |
|
|
| Custom assistantsMake your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems. |
|
|
| Agent modeCan take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms. |
|
|
| Connects toApps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| AccountWhether you need to sign up before using it. |
|
|
| Where it is availableCountries or regions where the provider says it can be used. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Context window | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Custom assistants |
What it is for
What it is for
ChatGPT:
ChatGPT is OpenAI's chat assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for drafting text, asking questions with web search, or asking about an uploaded document or image.
Claude:
Claude is Anthropic's AI assistant on the web, desktop and mobile; a beginner might try it for writing and editing text, asking about an uploaded PDF or image, or questions that need a web search.
Editor's suggestion
ChatGPT:
- Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
- Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.
Claude:
- Editor's suggestion: Try summarising a document you are allowed to share, then check the summary against the original.
- Editor's suggestion: Try a question about something recent, and open the linked sources before relying on the answer.
Cost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedchatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Claude:
- Supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Plans and prices
ChatGPT:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month (shown for United States)
- Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month (shown for United States)
- Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month (shown for United States)
- Pro (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month (shown for United States)
- Business (Team)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
Claude:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month, plus tax
- Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month, plus tax
- Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month, plus tax
- Team (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually, plus tax
- All plan details and sources
Through the API
Per 1 million tokens, and about what 30 short chat messages a day cost a month.
ChatGPT:
- GPT-6 Luna$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
- GPT-5.6 Luna$0.20 in · $1.20 out · about $0.35 a month
- GPT-6.1 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
- GPT-6 Sol$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
- GPT-5.6 Terra$2.00 in · $12.00 out · about $3.48 a month
- GPT-5.6 Sol$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
- GPT-6 Astra$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
- GPT-5.5 Pro$30.00 in · $180.00 out · about $52 a month
- Official price pageHow we count
Claude:
- Claude Haiku 5.5$0.10 in · $0.50 out · about $0.16 a month
- Claude Sonnet 5.5$2.00 in · $10.00 out · about $3.12 a month
- Claude Opus 5.5$4.00 in · $20.00 out · about $6.24 a month
- Claude Fable 5.1$10.00 in · $50.00 out · about $16 a month
- Official price pageHow we count
AI models
AI models
The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
ChatGPT:
- GPT-6, GPT-6 Pro, GPT-6 Astra, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Sol Pro, GPT-5.6 Lunahelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Claude:
- Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Claude Opus 5support.claude.com +1checked 2026-10-10
Input and output
File upload
You can give it files such as PDFs or documents.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plans: Go, Plus, Pro, Business · On: Web, Mobile app
- Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Free plan
Free plan: 3 file uploads per day. Audio uploads are not available on Free.
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Image input
You can give it an image to describe or analyse.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plan not specified
Voice conversation
Talk to it out loud and hear it answer.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Runs code and analyses data
Runs code to work with numbers, spreadsheets or charts, not only text.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Checking facts
Web search
It can search the web while answering.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business
Claude:
- Supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Plans: Free, Pro, Max
Deep research
A mode that searches many sources step by step and writes a report with citations.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Pro, Max, Team
Workflow
Platforms
Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.
ChatGPT:
- Web, Desktop app, Mobile apphelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Claude:
- Web, Desktop app, Mobile appclaude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Memory
Remembers things you told it in earlier chats.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Projects
Group chats and files for one piece of work, with their own instructions.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Custom assistants
Make your own assistant with fixed instructions and files, such as GPTs or Gems.
ChatGPT:
- Limitedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Pro
Existing GPTs can still be used; the same page says OpenAI plans to retire custom GPTs and recommends Plugins instead.
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Business plan
Claude:
- Not yet confirmed
Agent mode
Can take actions for you in a browser or on a computer, such as filling in forms.
ChatGPT:
- Supportedhelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Plus, Pro, Business
Claude:
- Supportedsupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Pro, Max, Team
Connects to
Apps and services it can read from or work in, as the official pages name them.
ChatGPT:
- Google Drive, Slack, Gmail, GitHub, OneDrive, SharePointhelp.openai.com +1checked 2026-10-11
Claude:
- Linear, Slack, Google Drive, Gmail, Google Calendar, Google Docs, Canva, Microsoft 365, Notion, Figma, HubSpot, Asana, monday.comsupport.claude.com +2checked 2026-10-11
Requirements
Account
Whether you need to sign up before using it.
ChatGPT:
- Some use possible without signing in (e.g. web search); signing in is needed for other functions, such as changing the language settinghelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Claude:
- Account required (log in with Google or with an email link)support.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Where it is available
Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.
ChatGPT:
- Available in the countries and territories listed on the official ChatGPT Supported Countries pagehelp.openai.comchecked 2026-10-10
Claude:
- Available in the countries listed on the official 'Where can I access Claude?' pagesupport.claude.comchecked 2026-10-10
Sources and confidence
Confidence
ChatGPT:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Context window
Claude:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Custom assistants
