Skip to content
AIupick

MakevsZapier

Two automation tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Make

by Celonis, Inc.

Visual builder for multi-step automations (scenarios) across thousands of apps, with AI agents, a prompt-based builder and an MCP server.

All Make facts

Zapier

by Zapier Inc.

Connects thousands of web apps so events in one trigger actions in others, with AI steps, agents and MCP access for AI assistants.

All Zapier facts

Where they differ

  • PlatformsMake: Mobile appZapier: Web
  • Free plan limitsMake: 1,000 credits a month; scenarios run at most every 15 minutes. 2 active scenarios (unlimited on paid plans)Zapier: 100 tasks a month, shared between Zaps and MCP actions. Zaps limited to two steps: one trigger and one action
  • Used to train AIMake: For Maia, Make says prompts, scenario structures and outputs are not used to train or fine-tune the model. For the Make AI Toolkit modules, Make says data is neither stored nor used to train the AI.Zapier: Zapier says it does not train on the data that runs through workflows on any plan, but may learn from how workflows are structured unless you opt out; Enterprise is opted out automatically.
  • Apps it connectsMake: 3,000+ pre-built appsZapier: 9,000+ apps

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: build by describing it. The table below shows the conditions.

Same answer for both: free plan, MCP, AI steps, AI agents.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Make

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Core Paid, individual$9.00 / month, billed annually
  • Pro Paid, individual$16.00 / month, billed annually
  • Teams Team$29.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Make

Zapier

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Professional Paid, individual$19.99 / month, billed annually
  • Team Team$69.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Zapier

Full comparison with sources

MakeZapier

What it is for

What it is for

Make:

Visual builder for multi-step automations (scenarios) across thousands of apps, with AI agents, a prompt-based builder and an MCP server.

Zapier:

Connects thousands of web apps so events in one trigger actions in others, with AI steps, agents and MCP access for AI assistants.

Editor's suggestion

Make:

No editor suggestion yet

Zapier:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Zapier:

  • Supportedzapier.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Plans and prices

Make:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Core (Paid, individual)$9.00 / month, billed annually
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$16.00 / month, billed annually
  • Teams (Team)$29.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Zapier:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Professional (Paid, individual)$19.99 / month, billed annually
  • Team (Team)$69.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Input and output

Build by describing it

You describe the automation in words and it builds the workflow.

Make:

  • Supportedhelp.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Core, Pro, Teams, Enterprise

Zapier:

  • Supportedhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Make:

  • Mobile appapps.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

Zapier:

  • Webhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11

MCP

Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Zapier:

  • Supportedhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Apps it connects

How many apps it connects to, as the official pages state.

Make:

  • 3,000+ pre-built appsmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

Zapier:

  • 9,000+ appszapier.comchecked 2026-10-11

AI steps

A step in a workflow can call an AI model, for example to summarise or sort.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Zapier:

  • Supportedhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

AI agents

Agents that decide their next steps themselves, within limits you set.

Make:

  • Supportedhelp.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Zapier:

  • Supportedhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Not yet confirmed

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

Make:

  • Not yet confirmed

Zapier:

  • Not yet confirmed

Run on your own server

You can install it and run it on your own server.

Make:

  • Not yet confirmed

Zapier:

  • Not yet confirmed

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Make:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Open source, Run on your own server

Zapier:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Open source, Run on your own server

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open