Microsoft Power AutomatevsZapier
Two automation tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
Microsoft Power Automate
by Microsoft
Microsoft's automation service: cloud flows between 1,400+ connectors, plus desktop RPA on Windows and Copilot that drafts flows from descriptions.
All Microsoft Power Automate factsZapier
by Zapier Inc.
Connects thousands of web apps so events in one trigger actions in others, with AI steps, agents and MCP access for AI assistants.
All Zapier factsWhere they differ
- Free planMicrosoft Power Automate: LimitedZapier: Supported
- PlatformsMicrosoft Power Automate: Web, Desktop appZapier: Web
- Free plan limitsMicrosoft Power Automate: With a free Microsoft account there is no AI Builder, no cloud-flow integration, no premium or custom connectors and no unattended RPA.Zapier: 100 tasks a month, shared between Zaps and MCP actions. Zaps limited to two steps: one trigger and one action
- Used to train AIMicrosoft Power Automate: Microsoft says it does not use customer data to train Copilot or its AI features unless you consent.Zapier: Zapier says it does not train on the data that runs through workflows on any plan, but may learn from how workflows are structured unless you opt out; Enterprise is opted out automatically.
- MCPMicrosoft Power Automate: LimitedZapier: Supported
- Apps it connectsMicrosoft Power Automate: More than 1,400 prebuilt, certified connectorsZapier: 9,000+ apps
- AI agentsMicrosoft Power Automate: LimitedZapier: Supported
Confirmed for only one of the two so far: run on your own server. The table below shows which.
Same answer for both: AI steps, build by describing it.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
Microsoft Power Automate
- Power Automate for desktop Free plan$0.00 / month
- Power Automate free trial Time-limited trialPrice not confirmed
- Power Automate Premium Paid, individual$15.00 / month, billed annually
- Power Automate Process Enterprise$150.00 / month, billed annually
- Power Automate Hosted Process Enterprise$215.00 / month, billed annually
Zapier
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month
- Professional Paid, individual$19.99 / month, billed annually
- Team Team$69.00 / month, billed annually
- Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Full comparison with sources
| Automation | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | Microsoft's automation service: cloud flows between 1,400+ connectors, plus desktop RPA on Windows and Copilot that drafts flows from descriptions. | Connects thousands of web apps so events in one trigger actions in others, with AI steps, agents and MCP access for AI assistants. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion | No editor suggestion yet | No editor suggestion yet |
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| Input and output | ||
| Build by describing itYou describe the automation in words and it builds the workflow. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| PlatformsWhere the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension. |
|
|
| MCPSupports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources. |
|
|
| Apps it connectsHow many apps it connects to, as the official pages state. |
|
|
| AI stepsA step in a workflow can call an AI model, for example to summarise or sort. |
|
|
| AI agentsAgents that decide their next steps themselves, within limits you set. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| Run on your own serverYou can install it and run it on your own server. |
|
|
| Not yet confirmed | ||
| Open sourceThe tool's own code is published under an open-source licence. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Open source | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Open source, Run on your own server |
What it is for
What it is for
Microsoft Power Automate:
Microsoft's automation service: cloud flows between 1,400+ connectors, plus desktop RPA on Windows and Copilot that drafts flows from descriptions.
Zapier:
Connects thousands of web apps so events in one trigger actions in others, with AI steps, agents and MCP access for AI assistants.
Editor's suggestion
Microsoft Power Automate:
No editor suggestion yetZapier:
No editor suggestion yetCost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Power Automate for desktop (Microsoft account). Free use covers desktop flows in Power Automate for desktop on Windows; the pricing page offers cloud flows as a 30-day trial or paid plans.
Zapier:
- Supportedzapier.comchecked 2026-10-11
Free plan
Plans and prices
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Power Automate for desktop (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Power Automate free trial (Time-limited trial)Price not confirmed
- Power Automate Premium (Paid, individual)$15.00 / month, billed annually
- Power Automate Process (Enterprise)$150.00 / month, billed annually
- Power Automate Hosted Process (Enterprise)$215.00 / month, billed annually
- All plan details and sources
Zapier:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Professional (Paid, individual)$19.99 / month, billed annually
- Team (Team)$69.00 / month, billed annually
- Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
Input and output
Build by describing it
You describe the automation in words and it builds the workflow.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Supportedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Zapier:
- Supportedhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Workflow
Platforms
Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Web, Desktop appmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11
Zapier:
- Webhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11
MCP
Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Microsoft documents a preview MCP server for Process Mining data, which needs an active Process Mining licence.
Zapier:
- Supportedhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Apps it connects
How many apps it connects to, as the official pages state.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- More than 1,400 prebuilt, certified connectorsmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11
Zapier:
- 9,000+ appszapier.comchecked 2026-10-11
AI steps
A step in a workflow can call an AI model, for example to summarise or sort.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Supportedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Zapier:
- Supportedhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
AI agents
Agents that decide their next steps themselves, within limits you set.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Preview; limited to nine listed connectors such as SharePoint, Outlook and Teams unless you ask Microsoft for more.
Zapier:
- Supportedhelp.zapier.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Requirements
Run on your own server
You can install it and run it on your own server.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Not supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Zapier:
- Not yet confirmed
Not yet confirmed
Open source
The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.
Microsoft Power Automate:
- Not yet confirmed
Zapier:
- Not yet confirmed
Sources and confidence
Confidence
Microsoft Power Automate:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Open source
Zapier:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Open source, Run on your own server
