Skip to content
AIupick

MakevsMicrosoft Power Automate

Two automation tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Make

by Celonis, Inc.

Visual builder for multi-step automations (scenarios) across thousands of apps, with AI agents, a prompt-based builder and an MCP server.

All Make facts

Microsoft Power Automate

by Microsoft

Microsoft's automation service: cloud flows between 1,400+ connectors, plus desktop RPA on Windows and Copilot that drafts flows from descriptions.

All Microsoft Power Automate facts

Where they differ

  • Free planMake: SupportedMicrosoft Power Automate: Limited
  • PlatformsMake: Mobile appMicrosoft Power Automate: Web, Desktop app
  • Free plan limitsMake: 1,000 credits a month; scenarios run at most every 15 minutes. 2 active scenarios (unlimited on paid plans)Microsoft Power Automate: With a free Microsoft account there is no AI Builder, no cloud-flow integration, no premium or custom connectors and no unattended RPA.
  • Used to train AIMake: For Maia, Make says prompts, scenario structures and outputs are not used to train or fine-tune the model. For the Make AI Toolkit modules, Make says data is neither stored nor used to train the AI.Microsoft Power Automate: Microsoft says it does not use customer data to train Copilot or its AI features unless you consent.
  • MCPMake: SupportedMicrosoft Power Automate: Limited
  • Apps it connectsMake: 3,000+ pre-built appsMicrosoft Power Automate: More than 1,400 prebuilt, certified connectors
  • AI agentsMake: SupportedMicrosoft Power Automate: Limited

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: build by describing it. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: run on your own server. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: AI steps.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Make

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Core Paid, individual$9.00 / month, billed annually
  • Pro Paid, individual$16.00 / month, billed annually
  • Teams Team$29.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Make

Microsoft Power Automate

  • Power Automate for desktop Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Power Automate free trial Time-limited trialPrice not confirmed
  • Power Automate Premium Paid, individual$15.00 / month, billed annually
  • Power Automate Process Enterprise$150.00 / month, billed annually
  • Power Automate Hosted Process Enterprise$215.00 / month, billed annually
Plan details and sources for Microsoft Power Automate

Full comparison with sources

MakeMicrosoft Power Automate

What it is for

What it is for

Make:

Visual builder for multi-step automations (scenarios) across thousands of apps, with AI agents, a prompt-based builder and an MCP server.

Microsoft Power Automate:

Microsoft's automation service: cloud flows between 1,400+ connectors, plus desktop RPA on Windows and Copilot that drafts flows from descriptions.

Editor's suggestion

Make:

No editor suggestion yet

Microsoft Power Automate:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Power Automate for desktop (Microsoft account). Free use covers desktop flows in Power Automate for desktop on Windows; the pricing page offers cloud flows as a 30-day trial or paid plans.

Plans and prices

Make:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Core (Paid, individual)$9.00 / month, billed annually
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$16.00 / month, billed annually
  • Teams (Team)$29.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Power Automate for desktop (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Power Automate free trial (Time-limited trial)Price not confirmed
  • Power Automate Premium (Paid, individual)$15.00 / month, billed annually
  • Power Automate Process (Enterprise)$150.00 / month, billed annually
  • Power Automate Hosted Process (Enterprise)$215.00 / month, billed annually
  • All plan details and sources

Input and output

Build by describing it

You describe the automation in words and it builds the workflow.

Make:

  • Supportedhelp.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Core, Pro, Teams, Enterprise

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Supportedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Make:

  • Mobile appapps.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Web, Desktop appmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

MCP

Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Microsoft documents a preview MCP server for Process Mining data, which needs an active Process Mining licence.

Apps it connects

How many apps it connects to, as the official pages state.

Make:

  • 3,000+ pre-built appsmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • More than 1,400 prebuilt, certified connectorsmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

AI steps

A step in a workflow can call an AI model, for example to summarise or sort.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Supportedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

AI agents

Agents that decide their next steps themselves, within limits you set.

Make:

  • Supportedhelp.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Preview; limited to nine listed connectors such as SharePoint, Outlook and Teams unless you ask Microsoft for more.

Requirements

Run on your own server

You can install it and run it on your own server.

Make:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Not supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Not yet confirmed

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

Make:

  • Not yet confirmed

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Not yet confirmed

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Make:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Open source, Run on your own server

Microsoft Power Automate:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Open source

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open