Skip to content
AIupick

Makevsn8n

Two automation tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Make

by Celonis, Inc.

Visual builder for multi-step automations (scenarios) across thousands of apps, with AI agents, a prompt-based builder and an MCP server.

All Make facts

n8n

by n8n

Workflow automation and AI agent builder you can self-host or use in n8n Cloud, mixing visual nodes with JavaScript or Python code.

All n8n facts

Where they differ

  • PlatformsMake: Mobile appn8n: Web
  • Free plan limitsMake: 1,000 credits a month; scenarios run at most every 15 minutes. 2 active scenarios (unlimited on paid plans)n8n: Free Community edition must be self-hosted and lacks features such as custom variables, environments, external secrets and log streaming.
  • Used to train AIMake: For Maia, Make says prompts, scenario structures and outputs are not used to train or fine-tune the model. For the Make AI Toolkit modules, Make says data is neither stored nor used to train the AI.n8n: Workflow context sent to n8n Assistant is not used to train the AI services' models.
  • Apps it connectsMake: 3,000+ pre-built appsn8n: Over 500 integrations

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: build by describing it. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: open source, run on your own server. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, MCP, AI steps, AI agents.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Make

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Core Paid, individual$9.00 / month, billed annually
  • Pro Paid, individual$16.00 / month, billed annually
  • Teams Team$29.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Make

n8n

  • Community Edition Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Starter Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • Pro Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • Business TeamPrice not confirmed
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for n8n

Full comparison with sources

Maken8n

What it is for

What it is for

Make:

Visual builder for multi-step automations (scenarios) across thousands of apps, with AI agents, a prompt-based builder and an MCP server.

n8n:

Workflow automation and AI agent builder you can self-host or use in n8n Cloud, mixing visual nodes with JavaScript or Python code.

Editor's suggestion

Make:

No editor suggestion yet

n8n:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Community Edition plan

Plans and prices

Make:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Core (Paid, individual)$9.00 / month, billed annually
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$16.00 / month, billed annually
  • Teams (Team)$29.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

n8n:

  • Community Edition (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Starter (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • Pro (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • Business (Team)Price not confirmed
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Input and output

Build by describing it

You describe the automation in words and it builds the workflow.

Make:

  • Supportedhelp.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Core, Pro, Teams, Enterprise

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Community Edition, Starter, Pro, Business

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Make:

  • Mobile appapps.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

n8n:

  • Webdocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

MCP

Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Apps it connects

How many apps it connects to, as the official pages state.

Make:

  • 3,000+ pre-built appsmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

n8n:

  • Over 500 integrationsn8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

AI steps

A step in a workflow can call an AI model, for example to summarise or sort.

Make:

  • Supportedmake.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

AI agents

Agents that decide their next steps themselves, within limits you set.

Make:

  • Supportedhelp.make.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Requirements

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

Make:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

n8n:

  • Not supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Run on your own server

You can install it and run it on your own server.

Make:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Make:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Open source, Run on your own server

n8n:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open