Skip to content
AIupick

Gemini CLIvsCodex

Two coding agent tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Gemini CLI

by Google

Google's open-source terminal agent for Gemini; since June 18, 2026 it no longer serves free users or Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers.

All Gemini CLI facts

Codex

by OpenAI

OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key.

All Codex facts

Where they differ

  • Free planGemini CLI: Not supportedCodex: Supported
  • AI modelsGemini CLI: gemini-3-pro-preview, gemini-3-flash-preview, gemini-2.5-pro, gemini-2.5-flashCodex: GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna
  • Where it runsGemini CLI: TerminalCodex: Web, Terminal, IDE extension, Cloud, Desktop app
  • Open sourceGemini CLI: SupportedCodex: Limited
  • Included inGemini CLI: Included with Gemini Code Assist Standard and Enterprise licences; no longer with Google AI Pro or Ultra since June 18, 2026Codex: Included in ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterprise

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: works in the cloud. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: works on your computer, MCP, operating systems, pay per use with an API key.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Gemini CLI

  • Gemini Code Assist Standard (monthly) Team$22.80 / month
  • Gemini Code Assist Standard (annual) Team$19.00 / month, billed annually
  • Gemini Code Assist Enterprise (monthly) Enterprise$54.00 / month
  • Gemini Code Assist Enterprise (annual) Enterprise$45.00 / month, billed annually
Plan details and sources for Gemini CLI

Codex

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Go Paid, individual$8.00 / month
  • Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / month
  • Pro ($100) Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • Pro ($200) Paid, individual$200.00 / month
  • Pro ($500) Paid, individual$500.00 / month
  • Business (annual) Team$20.00 / month, billed annually
  • Business (monthly) Team$25.00 / month
  • Enterprise & Edu EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Codex

Full comparison with sources

Gemini CLICodex

What it is for

What it is for

Gemini CLI:

Google's open-source terminal agent for Gemini; since June 18, 2026 it no longer serves free users or Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers.

Codex:

OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key.

Editor's suggestion

Gemini CLI:

No editor suggestion yet

Codex:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Gemini CLI:

  • Not supportedgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Included in

Which subscriptions include it.

Gemini CLI:

  • Included with Gemini Code Assist Standard and Enterprise licences; no longer with Google AI Pro or Ultra since June 18, 2026codeassist.googlechecked 2026-10-11

Codex:

  • Included in ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterpriselearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Enterprise & Edu

Pay per use with an API key

Can be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription.

Gemini CLI:

  • Supportedgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Plans and prices

Gemini CLI:

  • Gemini Code Assist Standard (monthly) (Team)$22.80 / month
  • Gemini Code Assist Standard (annual) (Team)$19.00 / month, billed annually
  • Gemini Code Assist Enterprise (monthly) (Enterprise)$54.00 / month
  • Gemini Code Assist Enterprise (annual) (Enterprise)$45.00 / month, billed annually
  • All plan details and sources

Codex:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month
  • Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
  • Pro ($100) (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • Pro ($200) (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month
  • Pro ($500) (Paid, individual)$500.00 / month
  • Business (annual) (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually
  • Business (monthly) (Team)$25.00 / month
  • Enterprise & Edu (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Gemini CLI:

  • gemini-3-pro-preview, gemini-3-flash-preview, gemini-2.5-pro, gemini-2.5-flashgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11

Codex:

  • GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Lunalearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

Workflow

Where it runs

In a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud.

Gemini CLI:

  • Terminaldocs.cloud.google.comchecked 2026-10-11

Codex:

  • Web, Terminal, IDE extensionlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plus plan

  • Cloud, Web, Desktop applearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

Works on your computer

Edits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings.

Gemini CLI:

  • Supportedcodeassist.googlechecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Works in the cloud

Works on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else.

Gemini CLI:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

MCP

Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.

Gemini CLI:

  • Supportedgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Requirements

Operating systems

macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.

Gemini CLI:

  • macOS, Windows, Linuxgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11

Codex:

  • macOS, Linux, Windowslearn.chatgpt.com +1checked 2026-10-11

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

Gemini CLI:

  • Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Codex:

  • Limitedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    The CLI and SDK are open source; the docs list the IDE extension and Codex cloud as not open source.

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Gemini CLI:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Works in the cloud

Codex:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open