Gemini CLIvsGoogle Antigravity
Two coding agent tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
Gemini CLI
by Google
Google's open-source terminal agent for Gemini; since June 18, 2026 it no longer serves free users or Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers.
All Gemini CLI factsGoogle Antigravity
by Google
Google's agent platform with a desktop app, CLI, standalone IDE and IDE extensions; free for individuals, with higher limits on Google AI plans.
All Google Antigravity factsWhere they differ
- Free planGemini CLI: Not supportedGoogle Antigravity: Supported
- AI modelsGemini CLI: gemini-3-pro-preview, gemini-3-flash-preview, gemini-2.5-pro, gemini-2.5-flashGoogle Antigravity: Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 4.6, Claude Opus 4.6, GPT-OSS 120B
- Where it runsGemini CLI: TerminalGoogle Antigravity: Desktop app, Terminal, IDE extension, Own editor app
- Included inGemini CLI: Included with Gemini Code Assist Standard and Enterprise licences; no longer with Google AI Pro or Ultra since June 18, 2026Google Antigravity: Free for individuals; Google AI Pro and Ultra raise rate limits; Gemini Enterprise for organizations
- Pay per use with an API keyGemini CLI: SupportedGoogle Antigravity: Limited
Confirmed for only one of the two so far: open source. The table below shows which.
Same answer for both: works on your computer, MCP, operating systems.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
Gemini CLI
- Gemini Code Assist Standard (monthly) Team$22.80 / month
- Gemini Code Assist Standard (annual) Team$19.00 / month, billed annually
- Gemini Code Assist Enterprise (monthly) Enterprise$54.00 / month
- Gemini Code Assist Enterprise (annual) Enterprise$45.00 / month, billed annually
Google Antigravity
- Individual Free plan$0.00 / month
- Google AI Pro Paid, individual$19.99 / monthshown for United States
- Google AI Ultra (5x) Paid, individual$99.99 / monthshown for United States
- Google AI Ultra (20x) Paid, individual$199.99 / monthshown for United States
- Gemini Enterprise Standard/Plus EnterprisePrice not confirmed
- Gemini Enterprise Pay-as-you-go EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Full comparison with sources
| Coding agent | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | Google's open-source terminal agent for Gemini; since June 18, 2026 it no longer serves free users or Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers. | Google's agent platform with a desktop app, CLI, standalone IDE and IDE extensions; free for individuals, with higher limits on Google AI plans. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion | No editor suggestion yet | No editor suggestion yet |
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Included inWhich subscriptions include it. |
|
|
| Pay per use with an API keyCan be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| AI models | ||
| AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| Where it runsIn a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud. |
|
|
| Works on your computerEdits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings. |
|
|
| MCPSupports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| Operating systemsmacOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported. |
|
|
| Open sourceThe tool's own code is published under an open-source licence. |
|
|
| Not yet confirmed | ||
| Works in the cloudWorks on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Works in the cloud | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Works in the cloud, Open source |
What it is for
What it is for
Gemini CLI:
Google's open-source terminal agent for Gemini; since June 18, 2026 it no longer serves free users or Google AI Pro and Ultra subscribers.
Google Antigravity:
Google's agent platform with a desktop app, CLI, standalone IDE and IDE extensions; free for individuals, with higher limits on Google AI plans.
Editor's suggestion
Gemini CLI:
No editor suggestion yetGoogle Antigravity:
No editor suggestion yetCost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
Gemini CLI:
- Not supportedgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11
Google Antigravity:
- Supportedantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Individual plan
Included in
Which subscriptions include it.
Gemini CLI:
- Included with Gemini Code Assist Standard and Enterprise licences; no longer with Google AI Pro or Ultra since June 18, 2026codeassist.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Google Antigravity:
- Free for individuals; Google AI Pro and Ultra raise rate limits; Gemini Enterprise for organizationsgemini.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Google AI Pro plan · Region: United States
Pay per use with an API key
Can be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription.
Gemini CLI:
- Supportedgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Google Antigravity:
- Limitedantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Offered to organizations via Google Cloud; the plans docs list bring-your-own-key as not supported.
Plans and prices
Gemini CLI:
- Gemini Code Assist Standard (monthly) (Team)$22.80 / month
- Gemini Code Assist Standard (annual) (Team)$19.00 / month, billed annually
- Gemini Code Assist Enterprise (monthly) (Enterprise)$54.00 / month
- Gemini Code Assist Enterprise (annual) (Enterprise)$45.00 / month, billed annually
- All plan details and sources
Google Antigravity:
- Individual (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Google AI Pro (Paid, individual)$19.99 / month (shown for United States)
- Google AI Ultra (5x) (Paid, individual)$99.99 / month (shown for United States)
- Google AI Ultra (20x) (Paid, individual)$199.99 / month (shown for United States)
- Gemini Enterprise Standard/Plus (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
- Gemini Enterprise Pay-as-you-go (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
AI models
AI models
The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
Gemini CLI:
- gemini-3-pro-preview, gemini-3-flash-preview, gemini-2.5-pro, gemini-2.5-flashgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11
Google Antigravity:
- Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 4.6, Claude Opus 4.6, GPT-OSS 120Bantigravity.google +1checked 2026-10-11
Workflow
Where it runs
In a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud.
Gemini CLI:
- Terminaldocs.cloud.google.comchecked 2026-10-11
Google Antigravity:
- Desktop app, Terminal, IDE extension, Own editor appantigravity.google +1checked 2026-10-11
Works on your computer
Edits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings.
Gemini CLI:
- Supportedcodeassist.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Google Antigravity:
- Supportedantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
MCP
Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.
Gemini CLI:
- Supportedgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Google Antigravity:
- Supportedantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Requirements
Operating systems
macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.
Gemini CLI:
- macOS, Windows, Linuxgeminicli.comchecked 2026-10-11
Google Antigravity:
- macOS, Windows, Linuxantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Open source
The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.
Gemini CLI:
- Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Google Antigravity:
- Not yet confirmed
Not yet confirmed
Works in the cloud
Works on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else.
Gemini CLI:
- Not yet confirmed
Google Antigravity:
- Not yet confirmed
Sources and confidence
Confidence
Gemini CLI:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Works in the cloud
Google Antigravity:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Works in the cloud, Open source
