Skip to content
AIupick

FathomvsOtter.ai

Two meeting notes tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Fathom

by Fathom Video Inc.

Meeting recorder for Zoom, Google Meet and Teams that transcribes calls and writes summaries, with unlimited recordings on its free plan.

All Fathom facts

Otter.ai

by Otter.ai, Inc.

Meeting assistant that joins Zoom, Teams and Google Meet or records on desktop and phone, then transcribes, summarizes and answers questions about meetings.

All Otter.ai facts

Where they differ

  • Free plan limitsFathom: Unlimited recordings, storage and transcription. Advanced summaries for the first 5 calls each month, then only the general template. No AI action items or AI follow-up emails; Ask Fathom limitedOtter.ai: 300 transcription minutes per month. 30 minutes maximum per conversation. Only the 25 most recent conversations kept in history. 20 AI Chat queries per month (3 per conversation); 3 file imports per lifetime
  • Used to train AIFathom: Uses de-identified meeting data to train its in-house models unless you opt out in settings; OpenAI, Anthropic and Google are not authorized to train on it.Otter.ai: Privacy policy says Otter trains its own AI on de-identified audio recordings and on transcriptions.
  • Meetings it coversFathom: Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, In-personOtter.ai: Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, In-person, Phone calls
  • No bot in the callFathom: LimitedOtter.ai: Supported
  • Sends notes toFathom: HubSpot, Salesforce, Close, Zapier, Slack, Notion, AsanaOtter.ai: Slack, Salesforce, Claude, Google Drive, Notion, HubSpot, Zapier
  • LanguagesFathom: 38 languagesOtter.ai: English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Chinese (6 languages)

Same answer for both: free plan, platforms, summaries and action items, ask across meetings.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Fathom

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Premium Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • Team TeamPrice not confirmed
  • Business Team$34.00 / month
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Fathom

Otter.ai

  • Basic Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • Business Team$30.00 / month
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Otter.ai

Full comparison with sources

FathomOtter.ai

What it is for

What it is for

Fathom:

Meeting recorder for Zoom, Google Meet and Teams that transcribes calls and writes summaries, with unlimited recordings on its free plan.

Otter.ai:

Meeting assistant that joins Zoom, Teams and Google Meet or records on desktop and phone, then transcribes, summarizes and answers questions about meetings.

Editor's suggestion

Fathom:

No editor suggestion yet

Otter.ai:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Fathom:

  • Supportedhelp.fathom.videochecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Otter.ai:

  • Supportedotter.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Basic plan

Plans and prices

Fathom:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Premium (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • Team (Team)Price not confirmed
  • Business (Team)$34.00 / month
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Otter.ai:

  • Basic (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • Business (Team)$30.00 / month
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Input and output

Meetings it covers

Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, in-person or phone calls, as officially listed.

Fathom:

  • Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, In-personhelp.fathom.videochecked 2026-10-11

Otter.ai:

  • Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, In-person, Phone callsotter.ai +2checked 2026-10-11

No bot in the call

Takes notes without a bot joining the meeting, for example by recording on your device.

Fathom:

  • Limitedhelp.fathom.videochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Mac only; the pricing page labels bot-free capture as beta.

Otter.ai:

  • Supportedotter.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Summaries and action items

Writes a summary and the agreed next steps after the meeting.

Fathom:

  • Supportedfathom.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Otter.ai:

  • Supportedotter.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Languages

Languages it transcribes or speaks, as stated.

Fathom:

  • 38 languageshelp.fathom.videochecked 2026-10-11

Otter.ai:

  • English, Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Chinese (6 languages)otter.aichecked 2026-10-11

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Fathom:

  • Desktop app, Mobile app, Webhelp.fathom.video +1checked 2026-10-11

Otter.ai:

  • Desktop app, Mobile app, Webotter.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

Ask across meetings

Answer questions using many past meetings at once.

Fathom:

  • Supportedhelp.fathom.videochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Otter.ai:

  • Supportedotter.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Sends notes to

Apps it sends notes to, such as Slack, Notion or a CRM.

Fathom:

  • HubSpot, Salesforce, Close, Zapier, Slack, Notion, Asanahelp.fathom.video +1checked 2026-10-11

Otter.ai:

  • Slack, Salesforce, Claude, Google Drive, Notionotter.ai +1checked 2026-10-11
  • Salesforce, HubSpot, Zapierotter.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Business, Enterprise

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Fathom:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Otter.ai:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open