Skip to content
AIupick

n8nvsMicrosoft Power Automate

Two automation tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

n8n

by n8n

Workflow automation and AI agent builder you can self-host or use in n8n Cloud, mixing visual nodes with JavaScript or Python code.

All n8n facts

Microsoft Power Automate

by Microsoft

Microsoft's automation service: cloud flows between 1,400+ connectors, plus desktop RPA on Windows and Copilot that drafts flows from descriptions.

All Microsoft Power Automate facts

Where they differ

  • Free plann8n: SupportedMicrosoft Power Automate: Limited
  • Platformsn8n: WebMicrosoft Power Automate: Web, Desktop app
  • Free plan limitsn8n: Free Community edition must be self-hosted and lacks features such as custom variables, environments, external secrets and log streaming.Microsoft Power Automate: With a free Microsoft account there is no AI Builder, no cloud-flow integration, no premium or custom connectors and no unattended RPA.
  • Used to train AIn8n: Workflow context sent to n8n Assistant is not used to train the AI services' models.Microsoft Power Automate: Microsoft says it does not use customer data to train Copilot or its AI features unless you consent.
  • MCPn8n: SupportedMicrosoft Power Automate: Limited
  • Apps it connectsn8n: Over 500 integrationsMicrosoft Power Automate: More than 1,400 prebuilt, certified connectors
  • AI agentsn8n: SupportedMicrosoft Power Automate: Limited
  • Run on your own servern8n: SupportedMicrosoft Power Automate: Not supported

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: build by describing it. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: open source. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: AI steps.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

n8n

  • Community Edition Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Starter Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • Pro Paid, individualPrice not confirmed
  • Business TeamPrice not confirmed
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for n8n

Microsoft Power Automate

  • Power Automate for desktop Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Power Automate free trial Time-limited trialPrice not confirmed
  • Power Automate Premium Paid, individual$15.00 / month, billed annually
  • Power Automate Process Enterprise$150.00 / month, billed annually
  • Power Automate Hosted Process Enterprise$215.00 / month, billed annually
Plan details and sources for Microsoft Power Automate

Full comparison with sources

n8nMicrosoft Power Automate

What it is for

What it is for

n8n:

Workflow automation and AI agent builder you can self-host or use in n8n Cloud, mixing visual nodes with JavaScript or Python code.

Microsoft Power Automate:

Microsoft's automation service: cloud flows between 1,400+ connectors, plus desktop RPA on Windows and Copilot that drafts flows from descriptions.

Editor's suggestion

n8n:

No editor suggestion yet

Microsoft Power Automate:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Community Edition plan

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Power Automate for desktop (Microsoft account). Free use covers desktop flows in Power Automate for desktop on Windows; the pricing page offers cloud flows as a 30-day trial or paid plans.

Plans and prices

n8n:

  • Community Edition (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Starter (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • Pro (Paid, individual)Price not confirmed
  • Business (Team)Price not confirmed
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Power Automate for desktop (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Power Automate free trial (Time-limited trial)Price not confirmed
  • Power Automate Premium (Paid, individual)$15.00 / month, billed annually
  • Power Automate Process (Enterprise)$150.00 / month, billed annually
  • Power Automate Hosted Process (Enterprise)$215.00 / month, billed annually
  • All plan details and sources

Input and output

Build by describing it

You describe the automation in words and it builds the workflow.

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Community Edition, Starter, Pro, Business

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Supportedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Workflow

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

n8n:

  • Webdocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Web, Desktop appmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

MCP

Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Microsoft documents a preview MCP server for Process Mining data, which needs an active Process Mining licence.

Apps it connects

How many apps it connects to, as the official pages state.

n8n:

  • Over 500 integrationsn8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • More than 1,400 prebuilt, certified connectorsmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

AI steps

A step in a workflow can call an AI model, for example to summarise or sort.

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Supportedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

AI agents

Agents that decide their next steps themselves, within limits you set.

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Limitedlearn.microsoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    Preview; limited to nine listed connectors such as SharePoint, Outlook and Teams unless you ask Microsoft for more.

Requirements

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

n8n:

  • Not supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Run on your own server

You can install it and run it on your own server.

n8n:

  • Supporteddocs.n8n.iochecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Microsoft Power Automate:

  • Not supportedmicrosoft.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Sources and confidence

Confidence

n8n:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Microsoft Power Automate:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Open source

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open