Google AntigravityvsCodex
Two coding agent tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
Google Antigravity
by Google
Google's agent platform with a desktop app, CLI, standalone IDE and IDE extensions; free for individuals, with higher limits on Google AI plans.
All Google Antigravity factsCodex
by OpenAI
OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key.
All Codex factsWhere they differ
- AI modelsGoogle Antigravity: Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 4.6, Claude Opus 4.6, GPT-OSS 120BCodex: GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna
- Where it runsGoogle Antigravity: Desktop app, Terminal, IDE extension, Own editor appCodex: Web, Terminal, IDE extension, Cloud, Desktop app
- Included inGoogle Antigravity: Free for individuals; Google AI Pro and Ultra raise rate limits; Gemini Enterprise for organizationsCodex: Included in ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterprise
- Pay per use with an API keyGoogle Antigravity: LimitedCodex: Supported
Confirmed for only one of the two so far: works in the cloud, open source. The table below shows which.
Same answer for both: free plan, works on your computer, MCP, operating systems.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
Google Antigravity
- Individual Free plan$0.00 / month
- Google AI Pro Paid, individual$19.99 / monthshown for United States
- Google AI Ultra (5x) Paid, individual$99.99 / monthshown for United States
- Google AI Ultra (20x) Paid, individual$199.99 / monthshown for United States
- Gemini Enterprise Standard/Plus EnterprisePrice not confirmed
- Gemini Enterprise Pay-as-you-go EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Codex
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month
- Go Paid, individual$8.00 / month
- Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / month
- Pro ($100) Paid, individual$100.00 / month
- Pro ($200) Paid, individual$200.00 / month
- Pro ($500) Paid, individual$500.00 / month
- Business (annual) Team$20.00 / month, billed annually
- Business (monthly) Team$25.00 / month
- Enterprise & Edu EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Full comparison with sources
| Coding agent | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | Google's agent platform with a desktop app, CLI, standalone IDE and IDE extensions; free for individuals, with higher limits on Google AI plans. | OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion | No editor suggestion yet | No editor suggestion yet |
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Included inWhich subscriptions include it. |
|
|
| Pay per use with an API keyCan be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| AI models | ||
| AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| Where it runsIn a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud. |
|
|
| Works on your computerEdits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings. |
|
|
| Works in the cloudWorks on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else. |
|
|
| MCPSupports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| Operating systemsmacOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported. |
|
|
| Open sourceThe tool's own code is published under an open-source licence. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 Not yet confirmed: Works in the cloud, Open source | Last checked 2026-10-11 All compared fields have a confirmed value. |
What it is for
What it is for
Google Antigravity:
Google's agent platform with a desktop app, CLI, standalone IDE and IDE extensions; free for individuals, with higher limits on Google AI plans.
Codex:
OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key.
Editor's suggestion
Google Antigravity:
No editor suggestion yetCodex:
No editor suggestion yetCost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
Google Antigravity:
- Supportedantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Individual plan
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Free plan
Included in
Which subscriptions include it.
Google Antigravity:
- Free for individuals; Google AI Pro and Ultra raise rate limits; Gemini Enterprise for organizationsgemini.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Google AI Pro plan · Region: United States
Codex:
- Included in ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterpriselearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Enterprise & Edu
Pay per use with an API key
Can be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription.
Google Antigravity:
- Limitedantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Offered to organizations via Google Cloud; the plans docs list bring-your-own-key as not supported.
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Plans and prices
Google Antigravity:
- Individual (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Google AI Pro (Paid, individual)$19.99 / month (shown for United States)
- Google AI Ultra (5x) (Paid, individual)$99.99 / month (shown for United States)
- Google AI Ultra (20x) (Paid, individual)$199.99 / month (shown for United States)
- Gemini Enterprise Standard/Plus (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
- Gemini Enterprise Pay-as-you-go (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
Codex:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month
- Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
- Pro ($100) (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
- Pro ($200) (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month
- Pro ($500) (Paid, individual)$500.00 / month
- Business (annual) (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually
- Business (monthly) (Team)$25.00 / month
- Enterprise & Edu (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
AI models
AI models
The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
Google Antigravity:
- Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 4.6, Claude Opus 4.6, GPT-OSS 120Bantigravity.google +1checked 2026-10-11
Codex:
- GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Lunalearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Workflow
Where it runs
In a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud.
Google Antigravity:
- Desktop app, Terminal, IDE extension, Own editor appantigravity.google +1checked 2026-10-11
Codex:
- Web, Terminal, IDE extensionlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plus plan
- Cloud, Web, Desktop applearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Works on your computer
Edits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings.
Google Antigravity:
- Supportedantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Works in the cloud
Works on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else.
Google Antigravity:
- Not yet confirmed
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
MCP
Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.
Google Antigravity:
- Supportedantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Requirements
Operating systems
macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.
Google Antigravity:
- macOS, Windows, Linuxantigravity.googlechecked 2026-10-11
Codex:
- macOS, Linux, Windowslearn.chatgpt.com +1checked 2026-10-11
Open source
The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.
Google Antigravity:
- Not yet confirmed
Codex:
- Limitedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
The CLI and SDK are open source; the docs list the IDE extension and Codex cloud as not open source.
Sources and confidence
Confidence
Google Antigravity:
Last checked 2026-10-11
Not yet confirmed: Works in the cloud, Open source
Codex:
Last checked 2026-10-11
All compared fields have a confirmed value.
