Skip to content
AIupick

GitHub CopilotvsTabnine

Two coding tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-10

GitHub Copilot

by GitHub

GitHub Copilot is GitHub's AI coding assistant for code editors, the command line, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile and a desktop app; a beginner might try it for code suggestions while typing and for asking questions about a repository.

Good for: Coding

All GitHub Copilot facts

Tabnine

by Tricentis

Tabnine is an AI coding assistant for code editors and the terminal, now owned by Tricentis, whose current documentation describes enterprise plans; a beginner could use it for code completions and chat about a codebase if their organization provides access.

Good for: Coding

All Tabnine facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsGitHub Copilot: GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.3-Codex, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Grok 4.7Tabnine: Claude 4.8 Opus, Claude 4.7 Opus, Claude 4.6 Sonnet, GPT-5.5, GPT-5.4, GPT-5.3 Codex, Gemini 3.5 Pro, Gemini 3.1 Pro
  • Code completionGitHub Copilot: Limited, SupportedTabnine: Supported
  • How it runsGitHub Copilot: IDE extension, CLI, Desktop app, Cloud agentTabnine: IDE extension, CLI
  • PlatformsGitHub Copilot: Editor extension, Web, Mobile app, Desktop appTabnine: Editor extension
  • AccountGitHub Copilot: GitHub account requiredTabnine: Tabnine user account required (sign up or join a Tabnine team)

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: free plan, where it is available. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: repository context.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

GitHub Copilot

  • Copilot Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro Paid, individual$10.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro+ Paid, individual$39.00 / month
  • Copilot Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • Copilot Business Team$19.00 / month
Plan details and sources for GitHub Copilot

Tabnine

Plans not yet confirmed.

Plan details and sources for Tabnine

Full comparison with sources

GitHub CopilotTabnine

What it is for

What it is for

GitHub Copilot:

GitHub Copilot is GitHub's AI coding assistant for code editors, the command line, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile and a desktop app; a beginner might try it for code suggestions while typing and for asking questions about a repository.

Tabnine:

Tabnine is an AI coding assistant for code editors and the terminal, now owned by Tricentis, whose current documentation describes enterprise plans; a beginner could use it for code completions and chat about a codebase if their organization provides access.

Editor's suggestion

GitHub Copilot:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Tabnine:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot Free plan

Tabnine:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Plans and prices

GitHub Copilot:

  • Copilot Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro (Paid, individual)$10.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro+ (Paid, individual)$39.00 / month
  • Copilot Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • Copilot Business (Team)$19.00 / month
  • All plan details and sources

Tabnine:

Plans not yet confirmed

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

GitHub Copilot:

  • GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.3-Codex, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Grok 4.7docs.github.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Tabnine:

  • Claude 4.8 Opus, Claude 4.7 Opus, Claude 4.6 Sonnet, GPT-5.5, GPT-5.4, GPT-5.3 Codex, Gemini 3.5 Pro, Gemini 3.1 Prodocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

Workflow

Code completion

Suggests code as you type.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Limiteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot Free plan

    Copilot Free: up to 2,000 code completions per month.

  • Supporteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max, Copilot Business

Tabnine:

  • Supporteddocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Editor extension

Repository context

Can read across your project, not only the open file.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Supporteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Tabnine:

  • Supporteddocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

How it runs

Where you use it, for example a desktop editor, a command line, or a cloud agent.

GitHub Copilot:

  • IDE extensiongithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

  • CLI, Desktop appdocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

  • Cloud agentgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max

Tabnine:

  • IDE extension, CLIdocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Editor extensiongithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

  • Web, Mobile appgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Free, Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max · On: Web, Mobile app

  • Desktop appdocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

Tabnine:

  • Editor extensiondocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

GitHub Copilot:

  • GitHub account requireddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

Tabnine:

  • Tabnine user account required (sign up or join a Tabnine team)docs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Not sold or exported to embargoed destinations listed on GitHub's trade-controls page (currently Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Belarus and certain regions of Ukraine)docs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

Tabnine:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Sources and confidence

Confidence

GitHub Copilot:

Last checked 2026-10-10

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Tabnine:

Last checked 2026-10-10

Not yet confirmed: Free plan, Where it is available

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open