Skip to content
AIupick

GitHub CopilotvsJetBrains AI Assistant

Two coding tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

GitHub Copilot

by GitHub

GitHub Copilot is GitHub's AI coding assistant for code editors, the command line, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile and a desktop app; a beginner might try it for code suggestions while typing and for asking questions about a repository.

Good for: Coding

All GitHub Copilot facts

JetBrains AI Assistant

by JetBrains

JetBrains AI Assistant is a plugin that adds AI chat, code completion and coding agents to JetBrains IDEs; a beginner might try it for code suggestions and questions about a project in IntelliJ IDEA or PyCharm.

Good for: Coding

All JetBrains AI Assistant facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsGitHub Copilot: GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.3-Codex, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Grok 4.7JetBrains AI Assistant: Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Fable 5.1, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Gemini 3.7 Flash, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Sol
  • Code completionGitHub Copilot: Limited, SupportedJetBrains AI Assistant: Supported
  • How it runsGitHub Copilot: IDE extension, CLI, Desktop app, Cloud agentJetBrains AI Assistant: IDE extension
  • PlatformsGitHub Copilot: Editor extension, Web, Mobile app, Desktop appJetBrains AI Assistant: Editor extension
  • AccountGitHub Copilot: GitHub account requiredJetBrains AI Assistant: JetBrains Account needed to use a JetBrains AI plan; own API keys (BYOK) can be used without a JetBrains AI subscription
  • Where it is availableGitHub Copilot: Not sold or exported to embargoed destinations listed on GitHub's trade-controls page (currently Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Belarus and certain regions of Ukraine)JetBrains AI Assistant: Usage permitted only in the locations listed on JetBrains' AI Service Territory page

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: repository context. The table below shows the conditions.

Same answer for both: free plan.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

GitHub Copilot

  • Copilot Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro Paid, individual$10.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro+ Paid, individual$39.00 / month
  • Copilot Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • Copilot Business Team$19.00 / month
Plan details and sources for GitHub Copilot

JetBrains AI Assistant

  • AI Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • AI Trial (30 days of AI Pro) Time-limited trialPrice not confirmed
  • AI Pro Paid, individual$10.00 / month
  • AI Ultimate Paid, individual$30.00 / month
  • AI Pro (Organizations) Team$20.00 / month
Plan details and sources for JetBrains AI Assistant

Full comparison with sources

GitHub CopilotJetBrains AI Assistant

What it is for

What it is for

GitHub Copilot:

GitHub Copilot is GitHub's AI coding assistant for code editors, the command line, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile and a desktop app; a beginner might try it for code suggestions while typing and for asking questions about a repository.

JetBrains AI Assistant:

JetBrains AI Assistant is a plugin that adds AI chat, code completion and coding agents to JetBrains IDEs; a beginner might try it for code suggestions and questions about a project in IntelliJ IDEA or PyCharm.

Editor's suggestion

GitHub Copilot:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot Free plan

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Supportedjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    AI Free plan

Plans and prices

GitHub Copilot:

  • Copilot Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro (Paid, individual)$10.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro+ (Paid, individual)$39.00 / month
  • Copilot Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • Copilot Business (Team)$19.00 / month
  • All plan details and sources

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • AI Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • AI Trial (30 days of AI Pro) (Time-limited trial)Price not confirmed
  • AI Pro (Paid, individual)$10.00 / month
  • AI Ultimate (Paid, individual)$30.00 / month
  • AI Pro (Organizations) (Team)$20.00 / month
  • All plan details and sources

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

GitHub Copilot:

  • GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.3-Codex, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Grok 4.7docs.github.com +1checked 2026-10-10

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Fable 5.1, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Gemini 3.7 Flash, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Soljetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

Workflow

Code completion

Suggests code as you type.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Limiteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot Free plan

    Copilot Free: up to 2,000 code completions per month.

  • Supporteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max, Copilot Business

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Supportedjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Editor extension

Repository context

Can read across your project, not only the open file.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Supporteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Supportedjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Editor extension

How it runs

Where you use it, for example a desktop editor, a command line, or a cloud agent.

GitHub Copilot:

  • IDE extensiongithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

  • CLI, Desktop appdocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

  • Cloud agentgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • IDE extensionjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Editor extensiongithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

  • Web, Mobile appgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Free, Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max · On: Web, Mobile app

  • Desktop appdocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Editor extensionjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

GitHub Copilot:

  • GitHub account requireddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • JetBrains Account needed to use a JetBrains AI plan; own API keys (BYOK) can be used without a JetBrains AI subscriptionjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Not sold or exported to embargoed destinations listed on GitHub's trade-controls page (currently Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Belarus and certain regions of Ukraine)docs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Usage permitted only in the locations listed on JetBrains' AI Service Territory pagejetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

Sources and confidence

Confidence

GitHub Copilot:

Last checked 2026-10-10

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

JetBrains AI Assistant:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open