Skip to content
AIupick

Devin DesktopvsCodex

Two coding agent tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Devin Desktop

by Cognition

Devin Desktop, the new name for Windsurf, is Cognition's AI code editor with local agents, cloud handoff and a JetBrains plugin.

All Devin Desktop facts

Codex

by OpenAI

OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key.

All Codex facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsDevin Desktop: SWE-2, SWE-1.7 Lightning, Gemini 3.7 Flash, Gemini 3.8 FlashCodex: GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna
  • Where it runsDevin Desktop: Own editor app, IDE extension, CloudCodex: Web, Terminal, IDE extension, Cloud, Desktop app
  • Included inDevin Desktop: Own plans: Free, Pro and Max for individuals, Teams and Enterprise for organizationsCodex: Included in ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterprise

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: works in the cloud. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: open source, pay per use with an API key. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: free plan, works on your computer, MCP, operating systems.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Devin Desktop

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month
  • Max Paid, individual$200.00 / month
  • Teams Team$80.00 / month
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Devin Desktop

Codex

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Go Paid, individual$8.00 / month
  • Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / month
  • Pro ($100) Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • Pro ($200) Paid, individual$200.00 / month
  • Pro ($500) Paid, individual$500.00 / month
  • Business (annual) Team$20.00 / month, billed annually
  • Business (monthly) Team$25.00 / month
  • Enterprise & Edu EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Codex

Full comparison with sources

Devin DesktopCodex

What it is for

What it is for

Devin Desktop:

Devin Desktop, the new name for Windsurf, is Cognition's AI code editor with local agents, cloud handoff and a JetBrains plugin.

Codex:

OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key.

Editor's suggestion

Devin Desktop:

No editor suggestion yet

Codex:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Devin Desktop:

  • Supporteddevin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Included in

Which subscriptions include it.

Devin Desktop:

  • Own plans: Free, Pro and Max for individuals, Teams and Enterprise for organizationsdocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Free, Pro, Max, Teams, Enterprise

Codex:

  • Included in ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterpriselearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Enterprise & Edu

Pay per use with an API key

Can be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription.

Devin Desktop:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Plans and prices

Devin Desktop:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
  • Max (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month
  • Teams (Team)$80.00 / month
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

Codex:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month
  • Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
  • Pro ($100) (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • Pro ($200) (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month
  • Pro ($500) (Paid, individual)$500.00 / month
  • Business (annual) (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually
  • Business (monthly) (Team)$25.00 / month
  • Enterprise & Edu (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Devin Desktop:

  • SWE-2, SWE-1.7 Lightning, Gemini 3.7 Flash, Gemini 3.8 Flashdocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

Codex:

  • GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Lunalearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

Workflow

Where it runs

In a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud.

Devin Desktop:

  • Own editor app, IDE extension, Clouddocs.devin.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

Codex:

  • Web, Terminal, IDE extensionlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plus plan

  • Cloud, Web, Desktop applearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

Works on your computer

Edits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings.

Devin Desktop:

  • Supporteddocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Works in the cloud

Works on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else.

Devin Desktop:

  • Supporteddevin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Max, Teams

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

MCP

Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.

Devin Desktop:

  • Supporteddocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Codex:

  • Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Requirements

Operating systems

macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.

Devin Desktop:

  • macOS, Windows, Linuxdocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

Codex:

  • macOS, Linux, Windowslearn.chatgpt.com +1checked 2026-10-11

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

Devin Desktop:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Codex:

  • Limitedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

    The CLI and SDK are open source; the docs list the IDE extension and Codex cloud as not open source.

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Devin Desktop:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Open source, Pay per use with an API key

Codex:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open