Skip to content
AIupick

CursorvsTabnine

Two coding tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-10

Cursor

by Anysphere

Cursor is an AI code editor and coding agent from Anysphere that runs as a desktop app, a command-line tool and cloud agents; a beginner might try it to get code suggestions while typing or to ask an agent to explain and change a project.

Good for: Coding

All Cursor facts

Tabnine

by Tricentis

Tabnine is an AI coding assistant for code editors and the terminal, now owned by Tricentis, whose current documentation describes enterprise plans; a beginner could use it for code completions and chat about a codebase if their organization provides access.

Good for: Coding

All Tabnine facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsCursor: Composer 2.5, Grok 4.7, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 FlashTabnine: Claude 4.8 Opus, Claude 4.7 Opus, Claude 4.6 Sonnet, GPT-5.5, GPT-5.4, GPT-5.3 Codex, Gemini 3.5 Pro, Gemini 3.1 Pro
  • Code completionCursor: Supported, LimitedTabnine: Supported
  • How it runsCursor: Desktop editor, CLI, Cloud agentTabnine: IDE extension, CLI
  • PlatformsCursor: Desktop app, Web, Mobile app, Editor extensionTabnine: Editor extension
  • AccountCursor: Cursor account required (free sign-up available)Tabnine: Tabnine user account required (sign up or join a Tabnine team)

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: free plan, where it is available. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: repository context.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Cursor

  • Hobby Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro+ Paid, individual$60.00 / month, plus tax
  • Ultra Paid, individual$200.00 / month, plus tax
  • Teams (Standard seat) Team$40.00 / month, plus tax
Plan details and sources for Cursor

Tabnine

Plans not yet confirmed.

Plan details and sources for Tabnine

Full comparison with sources

CursorTabnine

What it is for

What it is for

Cursor:

Cursor is an AI code editor and coding agent from Anysphere that runs as a desktop app, a command-line tool and cloud agents; a beginner might try it to get code suggestions while typing or to ask an agent to explain and change a project.

Tabnine:

Tabnine is an AI coding assistant for code editors and the terminal, now owned by Tricentis, whose current documentation describes enterprise plans; a beginner could use it for code completions and chat about a codebase if their organization provides access.

Editor's suggestion

Cursor:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Tabnine:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Hobby plan

Tabnine:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Plans and prices

Cursor:

  • Hobby (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro+ (Paid, individual)$60.00 / month, plus tax
  • Ultra (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month, plus tax
  • Teams (Standard seat) (Team)$40.00 / month, plus tax
  • All plan details and sources

Tabnine:

Plans not yet confirmed

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Cursor:

  • Composer 2.5, Grok 4.7, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flashcursor.com +8checked 2026-10-10

Tabnine:

  • Claude 4.8 Opus, Claude 4.7 Opus, Claude 4.6 Sonnet, GPT-5.5, GPT-5.4, GPT-5.3 Codex, Gemini 3.5 Pro, Gemini 3.1 Prodocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

Workflow

Code completion

Suggests code as you type.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Pro, Pro+, Ultra

  • Limitedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Hobby plan

    Hobby (free) plan: Tab completions are included with limited usage.

Tabnine:

  • Supporteddocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Editor extension

Repository context

Can read across your project, not only the open file.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

Tabnine:

  • Supporteddocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

How it runs

Where you use it, for example a desktop editor, a command line, or a cloud agent.

Cursor:

  • Desktop editorcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

  • CLI, Cloud agentcursor.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Tabnine:

  • IDE extension, CLIdocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Cursor:

  • Desktop appcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

  • Webcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Web

  • Mobile appcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Mobile app

  • Editor extensioncursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

Tabnine:

  • Editor extensiondocs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

Cursor:

  • Cursor account required (free sign-up available)cursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

Tabnine:

  • Tabnine user account required (sign up or join a Tabnine team)docs.tabnine.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

Cursor:

  • Some third-party models may be unavailable in certain regions because of model-provider location restrictions; other models keep workingcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10
  • iOS app available in all App Store regions except mainland Chinacursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Mobile app

Tabnine:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Cursor:

Last checked 2026-10-10

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Tabnine:

Last checked 2026-10-10

Not yet confirmed: Free plan, Where it is available

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open