Skip to content
AIupick

CursorvsJetBrains AI Assistant

Two coding tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Cursor

by Anysphere

Cursor is an AI code editor and coding agent from Anysphere that runs as a desktop app, a command-line tool and cloud agents; a beginner might try it to get code suggestions while typing or to ask an agent to explain and change a project.

Good for: Coding

All Cursor facts

JetBrains AI Assistant

by JetBrains

JetBrains AI Assistant is a plugin that adds AI chat, code completion and coding agents to JetBrains IDEs; a beginner might try it for code suggestions and questions about a project in IntelliJ IDEA or PyCharm.

Good for: Coding

All JetBrains AI Assistant facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsCursor: Composer 2.5, Grok 4.7, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 FlashJetBrains AI Assistant: Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Fable 5.1, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Gemini 3.7 Flash, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Sol
  • Code completionCursor: Supported, LimitedJetBrains AI Assistant: Supported
  • How it runsCursor: Desktop editor, CLI, Cloud agentJetBrains AI Assistant: IDE extension
  • PlatformsCursor: Desktop app, Web, Mobile app, Editor extensionJetBrains AI Assistant: Editor extension
  • AccountCursor: Cursor account required (free sign-up available)JetBrains AI Assistant: JetBrains Account needed to use a JetBrains AI plan; own API keys (BYOK) can be used without a JetBrains AI subscription
  • Where it is availableCursor: Some third-party models may be unavailable in certain regions because of model-provider location restrictions; other models keep working, iOS app available in all App Store regions except mainland ChinaJetBrains AI Assistant: Usage permitted only in the locations listed on JetBrains' AI Service Territory page

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: repository context. The table below shows the conditions.

Same answer for both: free plan.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Cursor

  • Hobby Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro+ Paid, individual$60.00 / month, plus tax
  • Ultra Paid, individual$200.00 / month, plus tax
  • Teams (Standard seat) Team$40.00 / month, plus tax
Plan details and sources for Cursor

JetBrains AI Assistant

  • AI Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • AI Trial (30 days of AI Pro) Time-limited trialPrice not confirmed
  • AI Pro Paid, individual$10.00 / month
  • AI Ultimate Paid, individual$30.00 / month
  • AI Pro (Organizations) Team$20.00 / month
Plan details and sources for JetBrains AI Assistant

Full comparison with sources

CursorJetBrains AI Assistant

What it is for

What it is for

Cursor:

Cursor is an AI code editor and coding agent from Anysphere that runs as a desktop app, a command-line tool and cloud agents; a beginner might try it to get code suggestions while typing or to ask an agent to explain and change a project.

JetBrains AI Assistant:

JetBrains AI Assistant is a plugin that adds AI chat, code completion and coding agents to JetBrains IDEs; a beginner might try it for code suggestions and questions about a project in IntelliJ IDEA or PyCharm.

Editor's suggestion

Cursor:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Hobby plan

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Supportedjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    AI Free plan

Plans and prices

Cursor:

  • Hobby (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro+ (Paid, individual)$60.00 / month, plus tax
  • Ultra (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month, plus tax
  • Teams (Standard seat) (Team)$40.00 / month, plus tax
  • All plan details and sources

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • AI Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • AI Trial (30 days of AI Pro) (Time-limited trial)Price not confirmed
  • AI Pro (Paid, individual)$10.00 / month
  • AI Ultimate (Paid, individual)$30.00 / month
  • AI Pro (Organizations) (Team)$20.00 / month
  • All plan details and sources

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Cursor:

  • Composer 2.5, Grok 4.7, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flashcursor.com +8checked 2026-10-10

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Fable 5.1, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Gemini 3.7 Flash, GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-6 Soljetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

Workflow

Code completion

Suggests code as you type.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Pro, Pro+, Ultra

  • Limitedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Hobby plan

    Hobby (free) plan: Tab completions are included with limited usage.

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Supportedjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Editor extension

Repository context

Can read across your project, not only the open file.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Supportedjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Editor extension

How it runs

Where you use it, for example a desktop editor, a command line, or a cloud agent.

Cursor:

  • Desktop editorcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

  • CLI, Cloud agentcursor.com +1checked 2026-10-10

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • IDE extensionjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Cursor:

  • Desktop appcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

  • Webcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Web

  • Mobile appcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Mobile app

  • Editor extensioncursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Editor extensionjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

Cursor:

  • Cursor account required (free sign-up available)cursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • JetBrains Account needed to use a JetBrains AI plan; own API keys (BYOK) can be used without a JetBrains AI subscriptionjetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

Cursor:

  • Some third-party models may be unavailable in certain regions because of model-provider location restrictions; other models keep workingcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10
  • iOS app available in all App Store regions except mainland Chinacursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Mobile app

JetBrains AI Assistant:

  • Usage permitted only in the locations listed on JetBrains' AI Service Territory pagejetbrains.comchecked 2026-10-10

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Cursor:

Last checked 2026-10-10

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

JetBrains AI Assistant:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open