Skip to content
AIupick

CursorvsGitHub Copilot

Two coding tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-10

Cursor

by Anysphere

Cursor is an AI code editor and coding agent from Anysphere that runs as a desktop app, a command-line tool and cloud agents; a beginner might try it to get code suggestions while typing or to ask an agent to explain and change a project.

Good for: Coding

All Cursor facts

GitHub Copilot

by GitHub

GitHub Copilot is GitHub's AI coding assistant for code editors, the command line, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile and a desktop app; a beginner might try it for code suggestions while typing and for asking questions about a repository.

Good for: Coding

All GitHub Copilot facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsCursor: Composer 2.5, Grok 4.7, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 FlashGitHub Copilot: GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.3-Codex, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Grok 4.7
  • Code completionCursor: Supported, LimitedGitHub Copilot: Limited, Supported
  • How it runsCursor: Desktop editor, CLI, Cloud agentGitHub Copilot: IDE extension, CLI, Desktop app, Cloud agent
  • PlatformsCursor: Desktop app, Web, Mobile app, Editor extensionGitHub Copilot: Editor extension, Web, Mobile app, Desktop app
  • AccountCursor: Cursor account required (free sign-up available)GitHub Copilot: GitHub account required
  • Where it is availableCursor: Some third-party models may be unavailable in certain regions because of model-provider location restrictions; other models keep working, iOS app available in all App Store regions except mainland ChinaGitHub Copilot: Not sold or exported to embargoed destinations listed on GitHub's trade-controls page (currently Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Belarus and certain regions of Ukraine)

Same answer for both: free plan, repository context.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Cursor

  • Hobby Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro+ Paid, individual$60.00 / month, plus tax
  • Ultra Paid, individual$200.00 / month, plus tax
  • Teams (Standard seat) Team$40.00 / month, plus tax
Plan details and sources for Cursor

GitHub Copilot

  • Copilot Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro Paid, individual$10.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro+ Paid, individual$39.00 / month
  • Copilot Max Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • Copilot Business Team$19.00 / month
Plan details and sources for GitHub Copilot

Full comparison with sources

CursorGitHub Copilot

What it is for

What it is for

Cursor:

Cursor is an AI code editor and coding agent from Anysphere that runs as a desktop app, a command-line tool and cloud agents; a beginner might try it to get code suggestions while typing or to ask an agent to explain and change a project.

GitHub Copilot:

GitHub Copilot is GitHub's AI coding assistant for code editors, the command line, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile and a desktop app; a beginner might try it for code suggestions while typing and for asking questions about a repository.

Editor's suggestion

Cursor:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Hobby plan

GitHub Copilot:

  • Supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot Free plan

Plans and prices

Cursor:

  • Hobby (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro+ (Paid, individual)$60.00 / month, plus tax
  • Ultra (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month, plus tax
  • Teams (Standard seat) (Team)$40.00 / month, plus tax
  • All plan details and sources

GitHub Copilot:

  • Copilot Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro (Paid, individual)$10.00 / month
  • Copilot Pro+ (Paid, individual)$39.00 / month
  • Copilot Max (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • Copilot Business (Team)$19.00 / month
  • All plan details and sources

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Cursor:

  • Composer 2.5, Grok 4.7, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flashcursor.com +8checked 2026-10-10

GitHub Copilot:

  • GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Luna, GPT-5.3-Codex, Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Haiku 5.5, Gemini 3.8 Flash, Grok 4.7docs.github.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Workflow

Code completion

Suggests code as you type.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Pro, Pro+, Ultra

  • Limitedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Hobby plan

    Hobby (free) plan: Tab completions are included with limited usage.

GitHub Copilot:

  • Limiteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Copilot Free plan

    Copilot Free: up to 2,000 code completions per month.

  • Supporteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max, Copilot Business

Repository context

Can read across your project, not only the open file.

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

GitHub Copilot:

  • Supporteddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

How it runs

Where you use it, for example a desktop editor, a command line, or a cloud agent.

Cursor:

  • Desktop editorcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

  • CLI, Cloud agentcursor.com +1checked 2026-10-10

GitHub Copilot:

  • IDE extensiongithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

  • CLI, Desktop appdocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    All current plans

  • Cloud agentgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Cursor:

  • Desktop appcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

  • Webcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Web

  • Mobile appcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Mobile app

  • Editor extensioncursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

GitHub Copilot:

  • Editor extensiongithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

  • Web, Mobile appgithub.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Copilot Free, Copilot Pro, Copilot Pro+, Copilot Max · On: Web, Mobile app

  • Desktop appdocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

Cursor:

  • Cursor account required (free sign-up available)cursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

GitHub Copilot:

  • GitHub account requireddocs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

Cursor:

  • Some third-party models may be unavailable in certain regions because of model-provider location restrictions; other models keep workingcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10
  • iOS app available in all App Store regions except mainland Chinacursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Mobile app

GitHub Copilot:

  • Not sold or exported to embargoed destinations listed on GitHub's trade-controls page (currently Cuba, Iran, North Korea, Russia, Belarus and certain regions of Ukraine)docs.github.comchecked 2026-10-10

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Cursor:

Last checked 2026-10-10

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

GitHub Copilot:

Last checked 2026-10-10

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open