Claude CodevsCodex
Two coding agent tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.
last check 2026-10-11
Claude Code
by Anthropic
Anthropic's coding agent that reads your code, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDE, desktop app, web or cloud.
All Claude Code factsCodex
by OpenAI
OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key.
All Codex factsWhere they differ
- Free planClaude Code: Not supportedCodex: Supported
- AI modelsClaude Code: Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5, Haiku 5.5Codex: GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Luna
- Where it runsClaude Code: Terminal, IDE extension, Desktop app, Web, CloudCodex: Web, Terminal, IDE extension, Cloud, Desktop app
- Open sourceClaude Code: Not supportedCodex: Limited
- Included inClaude Code: Included in all paid Claude plans: Pro, Max, Team and EnterpriseCodex: Included in ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterprise
Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: works in the cloud. The table below shows the conditions.
Same answer for both: works on your computer, MCP, operating systems, pay per use with an API key.
Plans and prices
As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.
Claude Code
- Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month
- Pro (annual) Paid, individual$17.00 / month, billed annually
- Max 5x Paid, individual$100.00 / month
- Max 20x Paid, individual$200.00 / month
- Team (standard seat) Team$25.00 / month
- Team (standard seat, annual) Team$20.00 / month, billed annually
- Team (premium seat) Team$125.00 / month
- Team (premium seat, annual) Team$100.00 / month, billed annually
- Enterprise Enterprise$20.00 / month, billed annually
Codex
- Free Free plan$0.00 / month
- Go Paid, individual$8.00 / month
- Plus Paid, individual$20.00 / month
- Pro ($100) Paid, individual$100.00 / month
- Pro ($200) Paid, individual$200.00 / month
- Pro ($500) Paid, individual$500.00 / month
- Business (annual) Team$20.00 / month, billed annually
- Business (monthly) Team$25.00 / month
- Enterprise & Edu EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Full comparison with sources
| Coding agent | ||
| What it is for | ||
| What it is for | Anthropic's coding agent that reads your code, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDE, desktop app, web or cloud. | OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key. |
| Good for | ||
| Editor's suggestion | No editor suggestion yet | No editor suggestion yet |
| Cost | ||
| Free planA free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately. |
|
|
| Included inWhich subscriptions include it. |
|
|
| Pay per use with an API keyCan be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription. |
|
|
| Plans and pricesOriginal currency and billing period. No conversion. |
|
|
| AI models | ||
| AI modelsThe AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date. |
|
|
| Workflow | ||
| Where it runsIn a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud. |
|
|
| Works on your computerEdits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings. |
|
|
| Works in the cloudWorks on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else. |
|
|
| MCPSupports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources. |
|
|
| Requirements | ||
| Operating systemsmacOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported. |
|
|
| Open sourceThe tool's own code is published under an open-source licence. |
|
|
| Sources and confidence | ||
| Confidence | Last checked 2026-10-11 All compared fields have a confirmed value. | Last checked 2026-10-11 All compared fields have a confirmed value. |
What it is for
What it is for
Claude Code:
Anthropic's coding agent that reads your code, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDE, desktop app, web or cloud.
Codex:
OpenAI's coding agent for the terminal, IDE, desktop app and web, with cloud tasks; included in ChatGPT plans or usable with an API key.
Editor's suggestion
Claude Code:
No editor suggestion yetCodex:
No editor suggestion yetCost
Free plan
A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.
Claude Code:
- Not supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Free plan
Included in
Which subscriptions include it.
Claude Code:
- Included in all paid Claude plans: Pro, Max, Team and Enterpriseclaude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Pro, Enterprise
Codex:
- Included in ChatGPT Free, Go, Plus, Pro, Business, Edu and Enterpriselearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Free, Go, Plus, Enterprise & Edu
Pay per use with an API key
Can be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription.
Claude Code:
- Supportedcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Plans and prices
Claude Code:
- Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
- Pro (annual) (Paid, individual)$17.00 / month, billed annually
- Max 5x (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
- Max 20x (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month
- Team (standard seat) (Team)$25.00 / month
- Team (standard seat, annual) (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually
- Team (premium seat) (Team)$125.00 / month
- Team (premium seat, annual) (Team)$100.00 / month, billed annually
- Enterprise (Enterprise)$20.00 / month, billed annually
- All plan details and sources
Codex:
- Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
- Go (Paid, individual)$8.00 / month
- Plus (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
- Pro ($100) (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
- Pro ($200) (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month
- Pro ($500) (Paid, individual)$500.00 / month
- Business (annual) (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually
- Business (monthly) (Team)$25.00 / month
- Enterprise & Edu (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
- All plan details and sources
AI models
AI models
The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.
Claude Code:
- Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5, Haiku 5.5code.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Codex:
- GPT-6.1 Sol, GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6 Lunalearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Workflow
Where it runs
In a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud.
Claude Code:
- Terminal, IDE extension, Desktop app, Web, Cloudcode.claude.com +1checked 2026-10-11
Codex:
- Web, Terminal, IDE extensionlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plus plan
- Cloud, Web, Desktop applearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Works on your computer
Edits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings.
Claude Code:
- Supportedcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Works in the cloud
Works on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else.
Claude Code:
- Supportedcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plans: Pro, Enterprise
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
MCP
Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.
Claude Code:
- Supportedcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Codex:
- Supportedlearn.chatgpt.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Requirements
Operating systems
macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.
Claude Code:
- macOS, Windows, Linuxcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11
Codex:
- macOS, Linux, Windowslearn.chatgpt.com +1checked 2026-10-11
Open source
The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.
Claude Code:
- Not supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
Codex:
- Limitedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11
Plan not specified
The CLI and SDK are open source; the docs list the IDE extension and Codex cloud as not open source.
Sources and confidence
Confidence
Claude Code:
Last checked 2026-10-11
All compared fields have a confirmed value.
Codex:
Last checked 2026-10-11
All compared fields have a confirmed value.

