Skip to content
AIupick

Claude CodevsDevin Desktop

Two coding agent tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-11

Claude Code

by Anthropic

Anthropic's coding agent that reads your code, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDE, desktop app, web or cloud.

All Claude Code facts

Devin Desktop

by Cognition

Devin Desktop, the new name for Windsurf, is Cognition's AI code editor with local agents, cloud handoff and a JetBrains plugin.

All Devin Desktop facts

Where they differ

  • Free planClaude Code: Not supportedDevin Desktop: Supported
  • AI modelsClaude Code: Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5, Haiku 5.5Devin Desktop: SWE-2, SWE-1.7 Lightning, Gemini 3.7 Flash, Gemini 3.8 Flash
  • Where it runsClaude Code: Terminal, IDE extension, Desktop app, Web, CloudDevin Desktop: Own editor app, IDE extension, Cloud
  • Included inClaude Code: Included in all paid Claude plans: Pro, Max, Team and EnterpriseDevin Desktop: Own plans: Free, Pro and Max for individuals, Teams and Enterprise for organizations

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: works in the cloud. The table below shows the conditions.

Confirmed for only one of the two so far: open source, pay per use with an API key. The table below shows which.

Same answer for both: works on your computer, MCP, operating systems.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Claude Code

  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month
  • Pro (annual) Paid, individual$17.00 / month, billed annually
  • Max 5x Paid, individual$100.00 / month
  • Max 20x Paid, individual$200.00 / month
  • Team (standard seat) Team$25.00 / month
  • Team (standard seat, annual) Team$20.00 / month, billed annually
  • Team (premium seat) Team$125.00 / month
  • Team (premium seat, annual) Team$100.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise Enterprise$20.00 / month, billed annually
Plan details and sources for Claude Code

Devin Desktop

  • Free Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month
  • Max Paid, individual$200.00 / month
  • Teams Team$80.00 / month
  • Enterprise EnterprisePrice not confirmed
Plan details and sources for Devin Desktop

Full comparison with sources

Claude CodeDevin Desktop

What it is for

What it is for

Claude Code:

Anthropic's coding agent that reads your code, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDE, desktop app, web or cloud.

Devin Desktop:

Devin Desktop, the new name for Windsurf, is Cognition's AI code editor with local agents, cloud handoff and a JetBrains plugin.

Editor's suggestion

Claude Code:

No editor suggestion yet

Devin Desktop:

No editor suggestion yet

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Claude Code:

  • Not supportedclaude.comchecked 2026-10-11

Devin Desktop:

  • Supporteddevin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Free plan

Included in

Which subscriptions include it.

Claude Code:

  • Included in all paid Claude plans: Pro, Max, Team and Enterpriseclaude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Enterprise

Devin Desktop:

  • Own plans: Free, Pro and Max for individuals, Teams and Enterprise for organizationsdocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Free, Pro, Max, Teams, Enterprise

Pay per use with an API key

Can be paid per token through the provider's API instead of a subscription.

Claude Code:

  • Supportedcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Devin Desktop:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Plans and prices

Claude Code:

  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
  • Pro (annual) (Paid, individual)$17.00 / month, billed annually
  • Max 5x (Paid, individual)$100.00 / month
  • Max 20x (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month
  • Team (standard seat) (Team)$25.00 / month
  • Team (standard seat, annual) (Team)$20.00 / month, billed annually
  • Team (premium seat) (Team)$125.00 / month
  • Team (premium seat, annual) (Team)$100.00 / month, billed annually
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)$20.00 / month, billed annually
  • All plan details and sources

Devin Desktop:

  • Free (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month
  • Max (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month
  • Teams (Team)$80.00 / month
  • Enterprise (Enterprise)Price not confirmed
  • All plan details and sources

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Claude Code:

  • Claude Fable 5.1, Claude Fable 5, Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5, Haiku 5.5code.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

Devin Desktop:

  • SWE-2, SWE-1.7 Lightning, Gemini 3.7 Flash, Gemini 3.8 Flashdocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

Workflow

Where it runs

In a terminal, inside your editor, as its own editor app, on the web or in the cloud.

Claude Code:

  • Terminal, IDE extension, Desktop app, Web, Cloudcode.claude.com +1checked 2026-10-11

Devin Desktop:

  • Own editor app, IDE extension, Clouddocs.devin.ai +1checked 2026-10-11

Works on your computer

Edits files and runs commands on your own machine, with permission settings.

Claude Code:

  • Supportedcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Devin Desktop:

  • Supporteddocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Works in the cloud

Works on a task in a cloud sandbox while you do something else.

Claude Code:

  • Supportedcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Enterprise

Devin Desktop:

  • Supporteddevin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plans: Pro, Max, Teams

MCP

Supports the Model Context Protocol, a standard way to connect tools and data sources.

Claude Code:

  • Supportedcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Devin Desktop:

  • Supporteddocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Requirements

Operating systems

macOS, Windows or Linux, as officially supported.

Claude Code:

  • macOS, Windows, Linuxcode.claude.comchecked 2026-10-11

Devin Desktop:

  • macOS, Windows, Linuxdocs.devin.aichecked 2026-10-11

Open source

The tool's own code is published under an open-source licence.

Claude Code:

  • Not supportedgithub.comchecked 2026-10-11

    Plan not specified

Devin Desktop:

  • Not yet confirmed
Information incomplete

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Claude Code:

Last checked 2026-10-11

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Devin Desktop:

Last checked 2026-10-11

Not yet confirmed: Open source, Pay per use with an API key

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open