Skip to content
AIupick

Amazon Q DevelopervsCursor

Two coding tools, the same questions. Every answer comes from the official pages, with the date we checked. Nothing here is ranked.

last check 2026-10-10

Amazon Q Developer

by Amazon Web Services

Amazon Q Developer is AWS's AI assistant for software development in code editors, the command line and the AWS console; a beginner might try its free tier for code suggestions and questions about AWS.

Good for: Coding

All Amazon Q Developer facts

Cursor

by Anysphere

Cursor is an AI code editor and coding agent from Anysphere that runs as a desktop app, a command-line tool and cloud agents; a beginner might try it to get code suggestions while typing or to ask an agent to explain and change a project.

Good for: Coding

All Cursor facts

Where they differ

  • AI modelsAmazon Q Developer: Claude Sonnet 4, Claude Sonnet 3.7Cursor: Composer 2.5, Grok 4.7, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flash
  • Code completionAmazon Q Developer: SupportedCursor: Supported, Limited
  • How it runsAmazon Q Developer: IDE extension, CLICursor: Desktop editor, CLI, Cloud agent
  • PlatformsAmazon Q Developer: Editor extension, Web, Mobile appCursor: Desktop app, Web, Mobile app, Editor extension
  • AccountAmazon Q Developer: AWS Builder ID (free personal account) or AWS IAM / IAM Identity Center sign-in required; upgrading a Builder ID to Pro also needs an AWS accountCursor: Cursor account required (free sign-up available)
  • Where it is availableAmazon Q Developer: Console, mobile app, AWS website and chat-app use is limited to the AWS Regions listed on the official Supported Regions pageCursor: Some third-party models may be unavailable in certain regions because of model-provider location restrictions; other models keep working, iOS app available in all App Store regions except mainland China

Same answer, but for different plans or with different conditions: repository context. The table below shows the conditions.

Same answer for both: free plan.

Plans and prices

As listed on each official pricing page, in the currency we were shown. No conversion, no rounding.

Amazon Q Developer

  • Free Tier Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Tier Paid, individual$19.00 / month
Plan details and sources for Amazon Q Developer

Cursor

  • Hobby Free plan$0.00 / month
  • Pro Paid, individual$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro+ Paid, individual$60.00 / month, plus tax
  • Ultra Paid, individual$200.00 / month, plus tax
  • Teams (Standard seat) Team$40.00 / month, plus tax
Plan details and sources for Cursor

Full comparison with sources

Amazon Q DeveloperCursor

What it is for

What it is for

Amazon Q Developer:

Amazon Q Developer is AWS's AI assistant for software development in code editors, the command line and the AWS console; a beginner might try its free tier for code suggestions and questions about AWS.

Cursor:

Cursor is an AI code editor and coding agent from Anysphere that runs as a desktop app, a command-line tool and cloud agents; a beginner might try it to get code suggestions while typing or to ask an agent to explain and change a project.

Editor's suggestion

Amazon Q Developer:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Cursor:

  • Editor's suggestion: Try it while writing small functions, and read every suggestion before accepting it.
  • Editor's suggestion: Ask it to explain how an unfamiliar project is organised before you change anything.

Cost

Free plan

A free plan that is not time-limited. Trials are listed separately.

Amazon Q Developer:

  • Supportedaws.amazon.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Free Tier plan

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Hobby plan

Plans and prices

Amazon Q Developer:

Cursor:

  • Hobby (Free plan)$0.00 / month
  • Pro (Paid, individual)$20.00 / month, plus tax
  • Pro+ (Paid, individual)$60.00 / month, plus tax
  • Ultra (Paid, individual)$200.00 / month, plus tax
  • Teams (Standard seat) (Team)$40.00 / month, plus tax
  • All plan details and sources

AI models

AI models

The AI models the official pages name for this product. Line-ups change often, so check the date.

Amazon Q Developer:

  • Claude Sonnet 4, Claude Sonnet 3.7docs.aws.amazon.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Cursor:

  • Composer 2.5, Grok 4.7, Claude Sonnet 5.5, Claude Opus 5.5, GPT-5.6 Sol, GPT-5.6 Terra, Gemini 3.1 Pro, Gemini 3.8 Flashcursor.com +8checked 2026-10-10

Workflow

Code completion

Suggests code as you type.

Amazon Q Developer:

  • Supportedaws.amazon.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Editor extension

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Pro, Pro+, Ultra

  • Limitedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Hobby plan

    Hobby (free) plan: Tab completions are included with limited usage.

Repository context

Can read across your project, not only the open file.

Amazon Q Developer:

  • Supporteddocs.aws.amazon.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified · On: Editor extension

Cursor:

  • Supportedcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plan not specified

How it runs

Where you use it, for example a desktop editor, a command line, or a cloud agent.

Amazon Q Developer:

  • IDE extension, CLIaws.amazon.comchecked 2026-10-10

    Plans: Free Tier, Pro Tier

Cursor:

  • Desktop editorcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

  • CLI, Cloud agentcursor.com +1checked 2026-10-10

Platforms

Where the product is offered: web, desktop app, mobile app, or editor extension.

Amazon Q Developer:

  • Editor extensionaws.amazon.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

  • Web, Mobile appdocs.aws.amazon.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Web, Mobile app

Cursor:

  • Desktop appcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Desktop app

  • Webcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Web

  • Mobile appcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Mobile app

  • Editor extensioncursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Editor extension

Requirements

Account

Whether you need to sign up before using it.

Amazon Q Developer:

  • AWS Builder ID (free personal account) or AWS IAM / IAM Identity Center sign-in required; upgrading a Builder ID to Pro also needs an AWS accountdocs.aws.amazon.comchecked 2026-10-10

Cursor:

  • Cursor account required (free sign-up available)cursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

Where it is available

Countries or regions where the provider says it can be used.

Amazon Q Developer:

  • Console, mobile app, AWS website and chat-app use is limited to the AWS Regions listed on the official Supported Regions pagedocs.aws.amazon.comchecked 2026-10-10

Cursor:

  • Some third-party models may be unavailable in certain regions because of model-provider location restrictions; other models keep workingcursor.comchecked 2026-10-10
  • iOS app available in all App Store regions except mainland Chinacursor.comchecked 2026-10-10

    On: Mobile app

Sources and confidence

Confidence

Amazon Q Developer:

Last checked 2026-10-10

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Cursor:

Last checked 2026-10-10

All compared fields have a confirmed value.

Esc
↑ ↓ to moveEnter to open